Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
easy to make.my boyfriend loves this and he's hard to please with breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I made this following the recipe except I used only 3/4 cup of brown sugar and didn't pack it down and I used less pecans. I put parchment paper on the bottom of the pan and sprayed with Pam spray to keep it from sticking. I pour all the liquid over the bread and in the morning poured off any that wasn't absorbed. My husband made the mistake of taking it out too early and gave some to my daughter who hated it. Well I checked it and it wasn't done yet! So back in the oven for 15 more minutes. It really puffed up and I could tell it was done then. I didn't have a problem with it sticking at all. I liked this recipe and the pecan chips really made it special. It does taste more like bread pudding than french toast, but I did really like it. I froze a small portion of it too see if it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieInAlaska
Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I felt that most people were disappointed with the consistency of the finished dish. I tried this dish using 5 lg. eggs, 1 c. 1% milk, 1 c. heavy cream (I was out of 1/2 & 1/2), 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract & a dash of cinnamon. I sliced French bread into 1" slices & left it out to dry for several hours, turning slices over after a few hours to dry the other side. I sprayed a 9x13 glass baking dish with Pam (no problems with sticking) and soaked each bread slice well till it had a spongy consistency. I had extra space in my dish & extra egg mixture so I added a couple more slices of bread. I still had some of the egg mixture left and could have probably used a whole 16 oz. loaf of French bread if I had a larger dish. In the morning I combined a stick of butter with a c. of brown sugar & spread this on a couple of slices as my daughter doesn't like nuts, and then combined 3/4 c. of chopped pecans to the remaining butter/sugar mixture over the rest. I cooked for 40 mins. and the dish had puffed up beautifully. However, as other reviewers have noted, the consistency of this dish was more like bread pudding. I will try this again, using less liquid or maybe using chunks of French bread. This dish definitely has potential with the correct liquid to bread ratio. I think the type of bread used makes a difference & this needs to be taken into consideration. Hope this helps others in their attempts to tweak this recipe to their personal liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Well I made this recipe and soaked the bread in mixture for at least 2 mins each side ..and poured residue over...My hubby didnt like it as it was too sweet I didnt like the pecans in it...probably wont make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Delicious! This is truly for those who have a sweet tooth. It is very sweet. My kids love it. Watch this carefully though. Mine was done in less than 40 minutes. (Probably a little more than 30 minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This is so great when you have company! It's super sweet, but nothing but rave reviews from everyone who eats it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Outstanding! I've made this twice and it is delectable. The topping is so good you don't need syrup. HIGHLY recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
The taste was truly decadent!! Tasted like dessert! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I love this french toast! The pecan topping is the best. I add a little butavon, only because I have it, to the egg mixture. It would taste just as well without it though. It will take 2 9x13 pans, if you make the recipe as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Excellent. Easy to make and everyone young and old enjoyed. Love the idea of making ahead. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBTOUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States