Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
this recipe was so easy to make and turned out great. (i was a little nervous making it for my husband's family the morning after thanksgiving, since i'd never made it before). but i was really surprised at how easy and delicious it was. i listened to the advice from reviewer "Cookin in D Town" from Oct 1st, and added some extra spices, and poured out the extra liquid after turning the bread slices over again before cooking. this was not at all soggy. perfect! i will make this again....and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is a very tasty French Toast. I agree with other viewers...way too much milk. The next time I make it it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This turned out great! Although I did make a few changes, since after reading some of the reviews about it being to soggy and sticking to the pan. I sliced the loaf of day old French bread thick; about 1.5 inch slices. Used skim milk and only half the amount of half and half. Additionally, I added cinnamon and nutmeg to the egg mixture. I dipped each piece of bread in the mix and poured the remaining in the pan. The next morning, all of the liquid had been absorbed by the bread. I flipped each slice over, and sprayed Pam underneath it and spooned the pecan topping mixture over it. I baked it covered for 20 minutes at 350, then removed the foil and baked for another 30 minutes uncovered. I had no issues with sogginess or stickiness. Dusted with powdered sugar after letting it sit for 5 minutes. The flavor was great, very sweet, and the crunchiness of the pecans was awesome. Paired with home style potatoes and mimosas this made a great brunch!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin in D-town

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I did not let this sit over night. It was delicious!!! The only problem I had with it was that it was too soggy in the middle. So I removed half the batch from the pan, put them on a lightly greased cookie sheet uped the temp to 400 and baked them for 20 extra minutes 10 on each side. They were still a little too soggy but tasted great and well worth the effort. I do not even want to know how much soggier they would have been if I left them to sit over night and soak up the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Followed the recipe exactly. Although it tastes good (very sweet!), it turned out very soft and mushy in the middle, much like bread pudding, so for that reason we do not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
easy to make.my boyfriend loves this and he's hard to please with breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I made this following the recipe except I used only 3/4 cup of brown sugar and didn't pack it down and I used less pecans. I put parchment paper on the bottom of the pan and sprayed with Pam spray to keep it from sticking. I pour all the liquid over the bread and in the morning poured off any that wasn't absorbed. My husband made the mistake of taking it out too early and gave some to my daughter who hated it. Well I checked it and it wasn't done yet! So back in the oven for 15 more minutes. It really puffed up and I could tell it was done then. I didn't have a problem with it sticking at all. I liked this recipe and the pecan chips really made it special. It does taste more like bread pudding than french toast, but I did really like it. I froze a small portion of it too see if it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieInAlaska
Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
After reading all the reviews, I felt that most people were disappointed with the consistency of the finished dish. I tried this dish using 5 lg. eggs, 1 c. 1% milk, 1 c. heavy cream (I was out of 1/2 & 1/2), 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract & a dash of cinnamon. I sliced French bread into 1" slices & left it out to dry for several hours, turning slices over after a few hours to dry the other side. I sprayed a 9x13 glass baking dish with Pam (no problems with sticking) and soaked each bread slice well till it had a spongy consistency. I had extra space in my dish & extra egg mixture so I added a couple more slices of bread. I still had some of the egg mixture left and could have probably used a whole 16 oz. loaf of French bread if I had a larger dish. In the morning I combined a stick of butter with a c. of brown sugar & spread this on a couple of slices as my daughter doesn't like nuts, and then combined 3/4 c. of chopped pecans to the remaining butter/sugar mixture over the rest. I cooked for 40 mins. and the dish had puffed up beautifully. However, as other reviewers have noted, the consistency of this dish was more like bread pudding. I will try this again, using less liquid or maybe using chunks of French bread. This dish definitely has potential with the correct liquid to bread ratio. I think the type of bread used makes a difference & this needs to be taken into consideration. Hope this helps others in their attempts to tweak this recipe to their personal liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Well I made this recipe and soaked the bread in mixture for at least 2 mins each side ..and poured residue over...My hubby didnt like it as it was too sweet I didnt like the pecans in it...probably wont make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Delicious! This is truly for those who have a sweet tooth. It is very sweet. My kids love it. Watch this carefully though. Mine was done in less than 40 minutes. (Probably a little more than 30 minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States