Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Made this for Christmas brunch. Everyone loved it and went back for seconds. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Ignore the negative comments on this recipe & try it! It's exceptionally good in my opinion. There is a lot of batter left over & I'm not sure why, maybe it can make a bigger pan than stated. Anyway, I followed previous suggestions for cutting the sugar in half b/c it was VERY sweet & I used thicker slices of bread to avoid sogginess. TERRIFIC advice! I also used corn syrup & Italian style bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
My 5 year old son and I made it for Christmas morning and it received wonderful reviews! (I mistakenly put the syrup on AFTER it cooked, and it was still delicious!) Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Not sure what I did wrong but mine burned because of the brown sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was good, but not great. I did have slices sticking to each other, and I layered using a whole loaf of french bread. I had sprayed the pan with PAM prior to starting, but it didn't seem to matter. I let the dish stand 5 minutes before serving. Advice would be to remove ALL the slices at that time. I left some stay in the pan since we weren't eating it all at once and when we went back to getting a second helping it was even worse because the topping had turned into a carmel or even toffee-like substance once it cooled making it even harder to remove. I will try this again, maybe in a glass lasagna dish and will work with the amount of liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was DELICIOUS! I put it together 2 hours before Christmas brunch and it came out perfect. I think it would have been too soggy if I left it overnight. I also ran out of 1/2 & 1/2 so I used a mixure of cream and 2% milk. I also poured some of the mixture over the bread and did cut my bread a little thicker then the recipe says and added cinnamon to the batter. My inlaws and husband were very impressed. I served this with a ham, onion and cheese frittata I make. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was delicious! I made this Christmas Eve and baked it Christmas morning and it was fantastic. I cut my bread a little over 1" and also poured the remaining mixture over the bread and it was all absorbed the next morning. I used regular Hungry Jack syrup instead of maple and it was fine. I should have cooked the toast about 45 minutes as the middle was a little soggier than the outer edges but that's probably because I poured the extra over the top but in the end it didn't matter. I had leftovers and they reheated really well the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
EXCELLENT!!! I don't know what else to say. I was a little afraid because I have made recipes similar to this before and it came out soggy. Not this one! For one 9x13 pan I used 3 eggs, 1/2c milk, 1/2c half and half but made the full amount of topping. I used non stick spray on the pan before putting it in the fridge and had a little trouble with it sticking, not to bad. I made this christmas morning and my family liked it so much I think I will make it again for new year's morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Served it for my family and Mom was very impressed, Hubby loved it, too! Only substitution was plain yogurt for half-and-half. Dumped all of the egg mixture in and it wasn't soggy at all! Just moist - Will make again! **Update: Best with challah and 3/4 c. br sugar. For those who don't like nuts, omit the pecans and add 2 t. cinnamon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Lots of reviewers are complaining about this recipe being soggy, but nothing in the recipe says to pour all the remaining liquid over the bread. It just says to dip the bread in liquid. I'm sure it would have been like soup if I had poured all the liquid in the pan. I thought the consistency was great--crispy on the outside, but more like bread pudding on the outside, with a caramel sauce. This is the best french toast recipe I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States