Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Our new favorite. My daughter and I made this for Father's Day breakfast, and it was quite a hit. I thought it might be overly sweet, but it was perfect. The only change we made was to cut the bread in cubes to ensure even cooking. Served with balsalmic berry compote...scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This is a GREAT way to use up those few buns at the end of a package that never get used. I throw the last ones in the freezer until I have a bag full, then when slightly thawed, but the "outer crust" off, the unsliced ones make this recipe PERFECT and company swears I made "cinnamin pecan rolls" only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Outcome was good, but next time I would definitely cut back on the amount of liquid used- there was so much left over, I was able to add some sugar and bake it into a custard! I would also use a texas toast, or heavier regular bread. The hard crust of the French Bread made the slices very hard. I baked this and brought it to work for a potluck. People liked it a lot. Make sure you cover every piece of the bread with the topping to ensure it gets it's fair share of "syrup"! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stephentown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made "Sweet Honey French Bread" for this recipe. I didn't follow this recipe exactly. For the egg mixture I used: 5 eggs, 1 cup light coconut milk, 1 cup low fat milk, 1/8 cup heavy whipping cream, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1 teaspoon almond extract. I checked it after 40 minutes and it was still too moist for me, so I baked it an additional 15 minutes. This turned out Extremely tasty! Definitely a keeper, I'm putting this into my hard copy recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
My husband, 3 year old and I thought this was great. I modified the recipe a bit. Here's what I did. I made a loaf of pillsbury refrigerated french loaf, let it cool and sliced it into slightly more than 1" slices. I sprayed a glass 9x13 pan with Pam. I added cinnamon to the batter. I gave each slice a long dip in the batter on each side and placed it in the pan. I poured more batter over each slice and put a little in the bottom of the pan--enough to coat the entire bottom of the pan. In the morning, all the batter had been soaked up. I flipped each piece and poured the topping over it. I left the pecans out of the topping and cut the sugar in half. I baked it for 37 min and broiled it on high for the last 3 min or so (you have to watch it to make sure it doesn't burn.) I still had enough batter to make at least one more pan full--maybe I'll do that next time. It was delicious--it wasn't soggy and didn't stick to the pan. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
My sister made this for her family for Christmas morning. I came over to her house on the morning of the 26th and had a piece of the leftovers and it was still amazing. I can't imagine what it tasted like fresh! This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Without a doubt, the most looked-forward to Christmas breakfast dish. I've made it for three different gatherings, and everybody has loved it. I told one guest how to change it for a low-fat version, and she objected, saying 'don't mess with perfection!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIAMIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Made this for Christmas brunch. Everyone loved it and went back for seconds. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Ignore the negative comments on this recipe & try it! It's exceptionally good in my opinion. There is a lot of batter left over & I'm not sure why, maybe it can make a bigger pan than stated. Anyway, I followed previous suggestions for cutting the sugar in half b/c it was VERY sweet & I used thicker slices of bread to avoid sogginess. TERRIFIC advice! I also used corn syrup & Italian style bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
My 5 year old son and I made it for Christmas morning and it received wonderful reviews! (I mistakenly put the syrup on AFTER it cooked, and it was still delicious!) Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States