Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
My husband liked-- my kids didn't eat it. They had something similar in the past and didn't like. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
every time i make this i have to print the recipe because everyone just loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I made cinnamon raisin bread in my bread maker and used this in place of the french bread. Also, I cut the bread into cubes and mixed the bread with the egg mixture. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I made these for a valentines day breakfast and it was so nice to be able to do most of the work the night before and just pop them in the oven in the morning. I've never been a huge french toast person but these were absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Afor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by makeiteasy4me
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
We had this for breakfast this morning and it was very good. I didn't make the sauce of the butter/syrup, etc. because hubby is picky about how his french toast tastes. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeiteasy4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Absolutely scrumptious. Had a houseful of guests who loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKBOWEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Definitely a "keeper". Not having decided to prepare the recipe until the morning, I found that the recipe worked well without the overnight time in the refrigerator. I just put the bread slices in a resealable zipper bag with the egg mixture and gently tossed and flipped a couple of times while making the sugar mixture. I used ciabatta bread sliced about 3/4 to 1 inch thick, followed the recipe with DivineHealth7's modifications, and garnished with fresh blueberries and a dusting of powdered sugar. As an added bonus, putting the thin layer of butter in the bottom of the pan, as recommended by DivineHealth7 (I just used the remainder of the stick after making the sugar topping) created bits of caramel where the brown sugar mixture dripped over the bread, adding a bit of texture and extra richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I work at a Senior's recreation center, and I have used this recipe for many functions, serving up to 150 people. Everyone loves it, and asks for the recipe. I have even frozen and reheated leftovers and they were just as good. Thanks! Bev Also, upon reading others comments, I will leave the bread soaking overnight then flip it over 1/2 hour before baking, to allow the egg mixture to coat the bread more evenly. Covering loosely with foil for the first half of baking will keep the top from over-browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Very good - everyone always enjoys this. The only problem I have is that the french toast often sticks to the baking pan. I started putting the bread and egg mixture in a tupperware to soak overnight and then transfer it to a greased baking pan before I'm ready to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Very good! I love the fact of making night before. I had leftover batter, so I just poured the rest on the bread. I did add a bit of cinnamon to batter. Only just 1/2 cup of brown suger. Tasted great. Family loved it. Just add some fruit and some sausage for a side and wa-la, you have brunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States