Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This is the best breakfast I ever had! I will make it again and again! This recipe is delicious and you don't have to fuss in the kitchen first thing in the day. My recipe was a bit moist, but I poured all of the remaining egg mixture over the pre-saturated bread. Next time, I will throw out any mixture left in the bowl and breakfast will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I make this recipe as written, and everyone that's had it LOVES it! It certainly makes hosting brunch a lot easier. I could probably have this every day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Benrubi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I made this for my boyfriend and his mom and brother one Sunday for brunch. Half of us liked and the other half found it to mushy. I personally thought it had good flavor but it did get a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Great recipe! You can use a little more bread than 1/2 pound if you don't SOAK the bread in the milk mixture ("soak" defined as soggy to the point of the bread nearly falling apart). You would need to use a bigger pan to do this, and I truly believe the french toast would not at all be affected by this, meaning it wouldn't be too dry (there should still be plenty to sufficiently wet the 1/2 pound of bread as called for and extra).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I added vanilla, Vietnamese cinnamon and a little sugar to the egg wash. Yummy! The moistness (some would say sogginess) of the bread worked well for a family member who has difficulty swallowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Ross Shin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
My family loved this. Having it ready to just pop in the oven when you get up in the morning was wonderful. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
awesome. made in a larger pyrex so used almost the entire loaf of french bread (1 pound). too much egg mixture so cut down to 4 eggs and 1 1/4 C milk, .90C of 1/2 and 1/2. Used 1 C of brown sugar, 3 TBS syrup and 1 1/4 cups of pecans. the trick to non-stick results is to take a cold stick of butter and generously rub it in the pan before putting bread in. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I made this for a brunch, and everyone gobbled this up! It was ridiculously easy to make (much easier than traditional French Toast, even!) and so so delicious! =) Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I used almost all of the 1 lb. loaf of French bread, and cubed it. It soaked up all of the sauce and in the morning it cooked up beautifully - crispy on the top and creamy good in the middle. The cubes remained distinct even after cooking. This is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
The smell of it cooking brought people wandering out of bed, wrapped in blankets like some corny coffee commercial. Fantastic but I didn't listen to other reviewers about flipping it midway or cutting back on the milk. I like my french toast a bit firmer but this was VERY good. We will make it again, just a little tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States