Make Ahead Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this for New Years Day brunch at a ski house and it was a big hit! I took suggestions of others and sauteed fresh creminis, instead of using canned mushrooms, half and onion, and 3 cloves of garlic in some olive oil. I also used 2 cups of milk and 7 eggs, since I had more people to feed. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as stated, but when I realized my mother did not have croutons in her kitchen and I was not about to run to Safeway on Christmas Eve at 5pm, I decided to substitute with stuffing mix. It was all I had. Unfortunately that substitution caused the entire dish to taste verrrry stuffing-y and anyone who dished out a piece of casserole had to leave about half the crust behind to be able to taste the cheese and meat etc! But that was my fault, I would love to try this recipe again with croutons or my own homemade croutons. Aside from this minor issue the casserole was delicious. I cooked and drained the sausage then sauteed sliced mini portobello and button mushrooms with a very small onion... YUMMM. This is a keeper and I cant wait for the next time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
YUM. Easy to throw together. I left out the mushrooms since I had picky eaters. I bought large flour tortillas and served breakfast wraps. I also made some wraps and froze them - great for weekday breakfasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I followed the other revisions such as fresh mushrooms, 6 eggs, 2 cups milk, added some chopped green bell pepper and onion to the sausage (I used regular Jimmy Dean).... used 2 - 6 oz bags of garlic cheese croutons on the bottom, and added a splash of worcestershire to the egg/spinach/cheese mixture in my mixer. I baked it for about 70 minutes to make sure it was firm in the middle. Absolutely the BEST breakfast casserole I have ever eaten. I renamed it Christmas Morning Souffle and shared the recipe with my friends and family! (I did tell them I found the recipe here).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Wish I could give this a better review. Tried it beacuse of the spinach. Turned out ok but tasted like the soup instead of egg. Will be sticking with Zippy Egg Casserole from this website and adding spinach to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEACHERMOM37

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I made this recipe last night for dinner b/c I wanted to try it out before I made it for a meeting and it turned out to be bland. I'm probably not going to attempt this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was wonderful! I took if for breakfast at church and our worship leader asked during the service who brought the yummy breakfast casserole with the spinach and mushroom. I did add an extra egg, some bacon, extra croutons and fresh mushrooms. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
VERY flavorful. Everyone loved it. Super easy. LOVE the make-ahead aspect! (I wish all recipes could be made ahead!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy Gillis
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This was a really nice easy breakfast. I cooked it for my sons sleep over. I cooked cinnamon rolls as well but after the kids had finished off the rolls, they all wanted the casserole too. It smelled so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was great! Easy to put together with great flavour. A hit with friends for brunch. I've made this easy casserole a few times and it has always been great. Substitued asparagus for the mushrooms (a friend did not like mushrooms) and added cream of corn to the mix for nice surprise. Making substitutions to this recipe is simple and its always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States