Make Ahead Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Made this for a sunday brunch. Used some of the suggestions from others but tweeked it a bit too. Used 8 eggs not 4- used 2 - 5.5 oz bags of croutons. Added 1/2 lb of bacon and sauteed onions which I cooked with fresh mushrooms. Baked it for a little over an hour and it set up and held its shape well. I think the original recipe would be a bit runny without adding additional eggs and increasing the croutons. I would make it again in a minute....there was none left and received many compliments on the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I love this recipe. I have made it several times....most times for meat eaters. On Sunday I decided to make it Vegan style, I just substituted the meat with Vegan meat crumbles, used "fake" egg whites (used 8 instead). I used the new shredded Vegan cheeses they now make. I also used fresh spinach & fresh mushrooms & sauteed them. I used extra croutons (about 3 cups) so it wasnt so runny. It came out wonderful! Even the meat eaters in the group loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Terrific! Super easy, and the make ahead aspect makes it a keeper! I used pepper jack cheese, sauteed fresh mushrooms, garlic/cheese croutons, ditched the mustard, and dusted the top with onion powder. (I had the baby pouched while cooking, so cutting onions was NOT an option!) After plating, I topped each piece with shredded Parmesan. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Made this according to directions and was very disappointed. Far too much liquid and croutons turned to mushy globs. Won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Awesome! I have made other make ahead breakfast style casseroles and this is hands down the best one! Added 2 eggs, omitted the mushrooms and I used garlic croutons. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Easy to make for a potluck at work. Texture of it made me rate it lower. Tasted good though. I followed the recipe with the exception of sauting fresh mushrooms instead of using canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Made this for work, doubled recipe for 20+ people, they liked it personally I wish I could have found un-seasoned croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is SUCH a good casserole!! It has all the great breakfast ingredients thrown into one casserole. I've made this many times! It's great for when my husband has a breakfast at work and needs something other than muffins, fruit, etc. This is great served with coffee cake and coffee - YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
THIS RECIPE WAS FAST & EASY!!! BEING ABLE TO PREPARE IT THE NIGHT LEAVES YOUR MORNING FREE!! **I ADDED A FEW MORE EGGS, USED TEXAS TOAST CROUTONS, & USED SPICY SAUSAGE FOR ADDED KICK! NEXT TIME I WILL ADD SOME ONION- TRY & ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foo*delicious*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
AWE-SOME! I took this to a church breakfast this morning and it was gone in a flash. I had multiple people come up to me and ask for the recipe. The spicy pork sausage and addition of mushroom soup are what I really think put it over the top. The slight changes I made are as follows: * Added an extra egg. * Omitted the mustard (hate the stuff) and subbed in some onion powder, white pepper and crushed black pepper. * Skipped on the canned mushrooms and instead used some thawed chopped broc. * Used low fat mozzarella in place of the monterey because the grocer was all out (go figure). THANK YOU FOR SHARING! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States