Make Ahead Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
i made it without the sausage and it was good, but I bet with the sausage I'd have given it a 5 star rating. Maybe next time I'll try some turkey or chicken sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Swarthmore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This was great, although our guests kept describing it as a "quiche", which it does seem a bit more like than a breakfast casserole! I was very nervous about the croutons, but other reviewers are right - great flavor and texture! We sauteed fresh mushrooms with onions and garlic and added colby jack cheese instead of the 2 kinds of cheese, but otherwise kept the recipe the same. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made this on Christmas Eve for Christmas morning. My family was tentative at first, but in no time raved that "it really is good." And, it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Excellent! Everyone loved it, and was too full for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is a really great recipe. It is versatile by allowing the cook to add whatever ingredients (meat, veggies) that is desired. That aside, it does have a tendency to come out a bit more running than most breakfast casseroles. To alleviate this problem, I use a 16oz bag of herb seasoned croutons. I also like my casseroles a bit more meaty and cheesy. Therefore, I use 1 pound of turkey sausage and 1 pound of bacon along with 16oz of shredded cheese. I also add a bit of paprika to the mix. The eggs and milk provide ample moisture for the crouton mixture to bake up moist but not soggy. As for execution, I mix everything except the croutons together and then mix in the croutons so that the add-ins are distributed throughout the casserole. Then I pour everything into a 9x13 baking dish. I take this casserole to MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) everytime it is my turn to cook and I never come home with any left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Excellent. Made this for the church breakfast and it was a big hit! If it is let to stand for 10 minutes before cutting, it will set and not be so soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Yummy. I love this with some salsa and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nimari
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
My family and I love this recipe. But I add a pound of bacon and 4 more eggs. I also omit the spinach but I believe everything else is the same and we all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nimari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I halved the recipe, except I used the whole can of mushrooms. It was very, very flavorful, not too spinach-y at all, as another reviewer commented. It is, however, very soggy, which some people like. I like a more firm casserole. The flavor is so wonderful, I may give this recipe another try and tweak it by adding more eggs, reducing the milk and perhaps adding a few cubed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This is a very forgiving recipe. I forgot to mix in the spinach, so I beat a couple of eggs and some milk with the spinach and poured it on top of the rest. It was a little odd to have a "crispy spinach topping", but tasted great, and actually looked cool. It also worked out quite well to make it on Christmas Eve and cook Christmas morning before the kids woke up. Best to find sausage without MSG (harder to find than you might think). I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States