Make Ahead Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Made this for a sunday brunch. Used some of the suggestions from others but tweeked it a bit too. Used 8 eggs not 4- used 2 - 5.5 oz bags of croutons. Added 1/2 lb of bacon and sauteed onions which I cooked with fresh mushrooms. Baked it for a little over an hour and it set up and held its shape well. I think the original recipe would be a bit runny without adding additional eggs and increasing the croutons. I would make it again in a minute....there was none left and received many compliments on the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I love this recipe. I have made it several times....most times for meat eaters. On Sunday I decided to make it Vegan style, I just substituted the meat with Vegan meat crumbles, used "fake" egg whites (used 8 instead). I used the new shredded Vegan cheeses they now make. I also used fresh spinach & fresh mushrooms & sauteed them. I used extra croutons (about 3 cups) so it wasnt so runny. It came out wonderful! Even the meat eaters in the group loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Terrific! Super easy, and the make ahead aspect makes it a keeper! I used pepper jack cheese, sauteed fresh mushrooms, garlic/cheese croutons, ditched the mustard, and dusted the top with onion powder. (I had the baby pouched while cooking, so cutting onions was NOT an option!) After plating, I topped each piece with shredded Parmesan. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Made this according to directions and was very disappointed. Far too much liquid and croutons turned to mushy globs. Won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Awesome! I have made other make ahead breakfast style casseroles and this is hands down the best one! Added 2 eggs, omitted the mushrooms and I used garlic croutons. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Easy to make for a potluck at work. Texture of it made me rate it lower. Tasted good though. I followed the recipe with the exception of sauting fresh mushrooms instead of using canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Made this for work, doubled recipe for 20+ people, they liked it personally I wish I could have found un-seasoned croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is SUCH a good casserole!! It has all the great breakfast ingredients thrown into one casserole. I've made this many times! It's great for when my husband has a breakfast at work and needs something other than muffins, fruit, etc. This is great served with coffee cake and coffee - YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
THIS RECIPE WAS FAST & EASY!!! BEING ABLE TO PREPARE IT THE NIGHT LEAVES YOUR MORNING FREE!! **I ADDED A FEW MORE EGGS, USED TEXAS TOAST CROUTONS, & USED SPICY SAUSAGE FOR ADDED KICK! NEXT TIME I WILL ADD SOME ONION- TRY & ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foo*delicious*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
AWE-SOME! I took this to a church breakfast this morning and it was gone in a flash. I had multiple people come up to me and ask for the recipe. The spicy pork sausage and addition of mushroom soup are what I really think put it over the top. The slight changes I made are as follows: * Added an extra egg. * Omitted the mustard (hate the stuff) and subbed in some onion powder, white pepper and crushed black pepper. * Skipped on the canned mushrooms and instead used some thawed chopped broc. * Used low fat mozzarella in place of the monterey because the grocer was all out (go figure). THANK YOU FOR SHARING! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States