Make Ahead Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I thought this was good for a breakfast casserole. A tip for those who thought the bottom layer of mush was unappetizing: Put the bread crumbs or croutons on top, then bake. Same ingredients & amounts, just put cubes on top. This will allow them to get browned and make a slightly crispier texture, than on the bottom. Just save a sprinkle of cheese to put on top of cubes, and you can broil for a minute or so after baking for a nicer crunch/texture. One more hint: Use a pre-made pie shell. Load the ingredients, minus the croutons, and simply bake. This will solve the problem of mushy croutons all together. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
It was delicious but my cardiologist (a fellow cook) took one look at the ingredients and turned a pale greenish hue and seemed to have lost his once lively talent for discourse on matters cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this for coffee hour at church this morning. Everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. I did not make any changes, although I threw in extra cheese (both kinds). I also made a veggie version for some of our congregation by just eliminating the sausage and adding a bit more of each of the other ingredients. Loved the taste and also absolutely loved how easy it was to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Great recipe. Easy to make and loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Delicious! I actually made this in 2 muffin pans for individual servings and it worked out perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I have been making a version of this for over 20 years. The difference is: no spinach or mushroom; the mushroom soup is added on the top of the casserole just before putting it in the oven in the morning; cheddar cheese in place of Monterey Jack; and diced jalepeno peppers over the sausage. I cook a full hour and let set at least 10 minutes before serving. Leftovers can be frozen for later. This version is just as good, just a bit different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
loved this, added green onions, but no more. The crowd loved it with a side of croissants it was perfect. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Used this for a brunch this morning. Followed the recipe for the most part. Added more croutons and eggs as others suggested. Used sweet turkey sausage. Will definitely make again. Perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenn Zinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Great, easy recipe. Made it Christmas Eve for Christmas brunch. Like others, tweaked it a little...used 5 jumbo eggs, 2 c. milk, no mushrooms (sister doesn't like mushrooms), seasoned croutons. Had a list of ingredients, but couldn't find the recipe, so I layered the croutons on bottom, layered cooked sausage & chopped onions on top (used 1.5 lbs spicy & .5 lb regular), layered spinach, poured egg mixture on that and they layered the monterrey jack and cheddar on top... baked 325 for 1.5 hrs...had a layer of alum.foil on most of the time..took off toward the end... turned off oven and let it sit in there for about 20 min. 'til I served it... it was WONDERFUL!!! served with fruit and warmed flour tortillas....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Made this for a church breakfast and it was a success. Very tasty and easy to prepare. Like other reviewers, I sauteed onion, fresh mushrooms with the sausage and also made sure to drain everything well before adding on top of the croutons. Used about 3 cups of croutons to make sure there was a good layer in the bottom of the dish. Did not have any "soggy crouton" problems that others reported. Look forward to making this one again and playing with different vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States