Make Ahead Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made this on Christmas Eve for Christmas morning. My family was tentative at first, but in no time raved that "it really is good." And, it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Excellent! Everyone loved it, and was too full for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is a really great recipe. It is versatile by allowing the cook to add whatever ingredients (meat, veggies) that is desired. That aside, it does have a tendency to come out a bit more running than most breakfast casseroles. To alleviate this problem, I use a 16oz bag of herb seasoned croutons. I also like my casseroles a bit more meaty and cheesy. Therefore, I use 1 pound of turkey sausage and 1 pound of bacon along with 16oz of shredded cheese. I also add a bit of paprika to the mix. The eggs and milk provide ample moisture for the crouton mixture to bake up moist but not soggy. As for execution, I mix everything except the croutons together and then mix in the croutons so that the add-ins are distributed throughout the casserole. Then I pour everything into a 9x13 baking dish. I take this casserole to MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) everytime it is my turn to cook and I never come home with any left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Excellent. Made this for the church breakfast and it was a big hit! If it is let to stand for 10 minutes before cutting, it will set and not be so soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Yummy. I love this with some salsa and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nimari
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
My family and I love this recipe. But I add a pound of bacon and 4 more eggs. I also omit the spinach but I believe everything else is the same and we all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nimari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I halved the recipe, except I used the whole can of mushrooms. It was very, very flavorful, not too spinach-y at all, as another reviewer commented. It is, however, very soggy, which some people like. I like a more firm casserole. The flavor is so wonderful, I may give this recipe another try and tweak it by adding more eggs, reducing the milk and perhaps adding a few cubed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This is a very forgiving recipe. I forgot to mix in the spinach, so I beat a couple of eggs and some milk with the spinach and poured it on top of the rest. It was a little odd to have a "crispy spinach topping", but tasted great, and actually looked cool. It also worked out quite well to make it on Christmas Eve and cook Christmas morning before the kids woke up. Best to find sausage without MSG (harder to find than you might think). I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was not very good - I expected it to be much better than it was, with all the 5-star ratings. The croutons made it soggy and it was just not very flavorful. VERY spinach-y...I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanab, Utah, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was great. I've already bought the ingredients to make it again. We brought it with us on a trip as an "already done-pop it in the oven" thing so we could spend more time with our guests. The kids were a little leary about eating it but once they tasted it, they loved it. The 7 year old had 3 helpings. I left out the mushrooms and spinach b/c I wasn't sure if everyone liked it but I'm sure it would have tasted great included. I also used restaurant style croutons which were larger and pre-seasoned. They come in 6 oz boxes and that's just the right amount to cover the bottom of your dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph7271

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States