Make-Ahead Baked Egg Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Microwaves are different, some people may need to defrost the sandwich prior to heating for 1-2 minutes. For some people you may need to defrost the meat and bun first then gently defrost and heat the egg separate but this process does not take much time. Much less time than making them fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaTMann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Great, healthier version of a microwave meal sandwich. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
So easy to put together and have ready in the freezer for an on the go breakfast. I used English Muffins and just white American cheese, and they were super yummy!! My 3 year old can't get enough of them and he loves to help make them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Made for my picky husband...and he loves them. So easy to make and he thinks Im the best wife ever for doing this for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justchrys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly. I wanted this to work. This is a good plan if you need to make a bunch of sandwhiches and eat them the same day BUT these are aweful soggy if you freeze them and then reheat. To salvage i microwave the egg, ham and cheese, which left a watery mess and then I toasted the bread so that it did not get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINZN8R

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
These were SO good!!! I made them at night and wrapped them in plastic wrap, put them in the fridge and took one to work. I microwaved it at work for one minute and it was SOOO good. They must have been really good because when I came back from work to freeze a couple, they were all gone!! The eggs took a little longer than 8-10 minutes and I added salt and pepper to them. These were so easy to make I will be making them often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Pretty good. Very hearty--almost too so! But definitely taking care of hunger in the morning, that's for sure. I made these slightly different because my 9x13 pan was in use at the time, so I used 2 8x8 pans to make the eggs. The eggs took more like 20-25 minutes to bake (the pan with the mushrooms needed 25 min; the other needed 20 min). I added red pepper, salt, pepper, and parsley to both pans and sliced mushrooms to one (bf likes mushrooms & I don't). A 9x13 pan might've worked differently, but the pieces in my 8x8 pans were just too huge to cut in 3rds, so I cut in 4ths instead and made 8 croissant sandwiches. So that we could eat some for breakfast this morning, I buttered and put on the eggs, meat, and cheese as written but then put 3 of the sandwiches (2 for bf, one for me) on a cookie sheet, leaving the top off the cheese so it would melt & placing next to the loaded pieces so that it would get warm as well. Then, I baked for an additional 10 minutes for the cheese to melt and served with strawberries. Very good and hearty. The remaining six sandwiches I wrapped up and placed in the freezer for weekday mornings. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
These are great. However, when I froze them and reheated them in the microwave the egg part took so much longer to reheat than the bread and cheese. I recommend that you just refrigerate them and eat them before they go bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Made these for my DH last week. He said they reheated pretty well. They reheated in ~3 minutes. I used sour dough English muffins & sharp cheddar cheese. I scaled it to 4 sandwiches: 8 eggs in an 8x8" pan with diced peppers and onions. They baked in ~18 minutes. I've got 2 left and will make some more... Thanks Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I made these yesterday, froze them, and reheated them just now. They are really good. I did change it up first I added salt and pepper to the eggs. I used English muffins and American cheese. Also I used sausage patties not ham although I can't wait to try the ham. I also just made the eggs in a pan and scrambled them because I was making them for breakfast and just decided to try these sandwiches. I only had 2 problems and they came from the eggs so I don't think if I bake the eggs next time I will have these problems. The first problem is the eggs didn't stay on the sandwich and the second is some of the eggs are still cold after heating them up. I still love this idea. Thanx so much!! Update: I have now made these a few times and I tried the ham and baked the eggs and they are great. I also made them using bagels and they are great that way also. This is a really great recipe that you can make using whatever you like. My 14 month old likes to eat just the baked egg. I will cut her a small square and she just holds it and eats it. I made an entire pan of eggs just for her and froze them and reheat them in the morning for her breakfast it's so fast and easy. I really love this recipe it's helped me so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikagee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States