Make-Ahead Baked Egg Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I'm sure the egg croissants are delicious. My concern is that heating them in plastic wrap in the microwave is a big no-no. Plastic wrap should never be used in the microwave or any plastic for that matter. It can be toxic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Use a biscuit cutter or rim of a glass to cut rounds to fit in English muffins. Cheese/ham can be cut that way too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I have made these for years using both English muffins and croissants. For people having problems/complaints about reheating, I suggest they check out some of the ready made breakfast sandwiches (which cost 2 or 3 times as much)with reheating instructions where you must separate the sandwich and warm up in several steps as other reviewers have done. I use a large round cookie cutter for English muffin sandwiches w/Canadian bacon instead of ham and eat the left over egg while putting everything together. Thanks for sharing this time saving idea Donna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
WAY too fat! Croissants are already full or butter, and to add more is juste ridiculous. AND makes the reheated croissant chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doridar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
These started out okay and tasted good, but got mushy after being in the freezer for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Loved these! I messed up the eggs by cooking them in too small a pan and ended up stirring them to get them to cook properly. They turned out fine, but would be better in the bigger pan so they can be cut up nicely to fit the buns. I also seasoned the eggs. Next time I don't think I'll butter the croissants because they're buttery enough on their own. Really enjoyed the Colby Jack cheese on these, it gave them a good flavor but other cheeses would work just as well. I do thaw them in the fridge overnight to help with cooking them in the morning. I've used the microwave and toaster oven and they turn out fine either way. Hubby loved these too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
So many variations are possible for this recipe. This is something I made for years and would eat on the way to work. I use toasted English muffins. They have less fat and are a little more sturdy than the croissant. I bake half the amount of egg in an 11 X 7 pan and add omelet style veggies (diced onion, bell pepper, diced green chiles). I use eggbeaters. A thin slice of Canadian bacon is a nice substitute for ham slices & use 2% sliced cheese. I wrap them individually and put them in a gallon zippered storage bag to keep the freezer burn away. Take one out and let it thaw in the frig overnite. In the morning they heat a little more evenly that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
UGH! This is the worst thing I've eaten in a long time and that's saying a lot since I try new recipes every week. Made it exactly as directed and it came out a soggy and ugly mess. Now I've got 5 additional sandwiches in my freezer that will have to be thrown out. Do not recommend this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
A super morning "grab and go" breakfast. The reheating wasn't a problem. I switched out the ham,replaced it with a slice of prosciutto and a slice of Genova salami. Used a slice of pepperjack and a slice of provolone cheese. Its a lot better than going thru McD's on the way to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
These were easy to make however when I heated them they took longer to heat through and they soggy. I am going to try making them on English Muffins or Bagels and see how that works. Disappointed want something I can get ready fast in the morning. Boopsie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States