Mainely Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I added a thick layer of spinach under the haddock,lightly drizzled it first with basil oil, then placed the haddock with the vegetables and drizzled all with basil oil and lemon juice. I increased the portions according to whom it was being served. I submitted this recipe originally and have updated it with the addition of the spinach. You can still use olive oil, but the basil or any flavored oil, and the addition of the spinach gives it a bit more interest and flavor. This is a no mess to clean up dinner. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Very colorful and beautiful presentation. I'm not very good at cooking fish, but this time I was able to turn out a fish dish that was very flavorful and delicious. I did make a few small changes. I used a bigger piece of fish than the recipe calls for, went just a little heavier on the spices,added garlic salt, and drizzled a little bit of butter on my haddock. And, while the recipe does not specify what kind of onion to use, I used a red onion with excellent results. Also, I did not use capers, but instead added artichoke hearts and fresh garlic in addition to the recommended ingredients. Lastly, I took the suggestion found in another review to place the fish on a good-sized bed of fresh spinach drizzled in olive oil before cooking, and I would also recommend this to anyone trying this recipe. Looking forward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
This was the best. We are eagar to have it again.But.. we will use six ounces of fish. The portion was very, very, small. It left a wonderful taste in your mouth. I may even try it with boneless chicken breast. 5 stars for sure, in fact 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I don't care for fish "en papillote" so I cooked the peppers, onions and tomatoes separately on the stove top while I roasted the fish (I used cod loins) separately at 400 degrees for 20 minutes (my filets were on the thick side). This was just ok; it neither excited nor offended the palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I'm not a fan of foil pouch cooking, so I put this in individual oval baking dishes and covered them tightly with foil. I used larger pieces of halibut instead of the haddock, and used a combination of red, yellow, orange and green peppers. Omitted the romas because I didn't have any. And instead of lemon juice I used some white wine and I cut the oil in half. Mine were perfectly cooked in 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
My wife is a fish eater and somewhat picky. This most definitely met her standards. I had roasted tomatoes and peppers at hand and I think this improved the flavor. The simplicity of preparation and the ease with which this is adaptable to however many individual servings make it a five star recipe in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
DELICIOUS!!! Incredibly flavorful and colorful. The fish just flaked and melted in our mouths. I will reduce the amount of olive oil and lemon juice next time, though so as not to have the juices run into my other food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I LOVE this dish. Used it the first time I cooked for a man I'm in love with, and he had nothing but nice things to say about it. Beautifully colorful, and very tasty. My grocer didn't have fresh cod, so I made this with Talapia. I added a bit of zucchini, cause I had it sitting around. Instead of the foil packets, I put 2-3 servings in a small lidded casserole and baked the whole thing together. Delicious, juicy and oh-so-pretty. I'll use this any time I want something simple and yummy to impress company with!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I made this and it was great - tremendous . I am a guy and like a more manly dish , so I used thick cod filets - about 6 oz each. I rinsed the capers to make them a bit more mild based on some previous experience. I used the suggestion about using a bed of spinach and the basil oil - that was a major addition as we like spinach. My wrapped foil packages were very large and I put them on the grill - a guy thing - outside at medium heat for 30-35 minutes . Easy assembly and easy cleanup and no odor in the kitchen . Great taste and fish was beautifully moist . I will do this again to showoff for guests. Girlfriend thinks I'm a genius !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
I used frozen fish this time and I would prefer to use fresh fish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSIA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States