Maine Wild Blueberry Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is a fabulous use of the heirloom tomatoes, cilantro, and jalapeno peppers from the garden. My heirloom tomatoes were very watery, so I put them in a colander while I chopped the remaining ingredients. Despite some draining, it was still watery, so I just used a slotted spoon to scoop the salsa from the mixing bowl into the serving bowl. I didn’t have the Hungarian hot pepper, but it still was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Love this salsa. The blueberry is an absolutely delightful touch. So fresh and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I made this as written except I bought the smallest haberno I could find and used the whole thing. This was like a party in my mouth and everyone loved, even those who do not like blueberries. I used NJ blueberries and they were very sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is so summery & the flavor combo is vibrant. I did add a splash of lime & served as a side to the Key West Chicken from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Who would've ever known that salsa and blueberries would work so well together? I like others just chopped up some juicy tomatoes...didn't cook or seed them. The blueberries were fresh from NC, not wild Maine...but nice and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Refreshing dish makes great side. Kept it simple and used chopped cherry tomatoes and passed on all the work of removing seeds. Used purple onion and subbed lime for rice vinegar and serrano for jalapeno pepper. Enjoyed this dish, blueberries complemented other ingredients nicely. I served with crumb coated chicken thighs from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Great refreshing salsa served with chips on a hot day. I did not bother boiling the tomatoes to remove the skin. I just chopped and seeded them and mixed with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Just perfect! I did use a bit more Walla Walla sweet onion and blueberry than was called for due to personal taste. Do not shy away from this one because of the blueberries. It's really wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I added extra blueberries when I was done and realized I wanted more. I didn't use as much onion. Call me lazy, but I didn't cook and peel the tomatoes, I just diced them. I seeded them only a little bit (I don't mind the seeds as that's where there's the most flavor in that little pocket of gel around the seed), I didn't have the Hungarian Hot Pepper so I just used extra jalapeno -- but I still felt it needed to be spicier to counterbalance the sweet. I also just used (lots of) cilantro (have a major overabundance in the garden right now) and not parsley. It's great with chips but I bet it would be super tasty on top of some grilled salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Amazing! The contrast of the salsa with the blueberries was wonderful! A hit everywhere and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleOfTheManor

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salsa

Salsa! An inventive way to use seasonal cranberries.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States