Maine Venison Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Very Autumn friendly. Simple and the slow cllking makes the venison sooooo tender. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This was excellent and very easy to put together. I used parsley instead of the browning and seasoning sauce and omitted the peas. I served it with warm bread. The meat was very tender and flavorful. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Very easy. We will be adding a little bit of spices to make it a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
UMMM! UMMM! GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nettie, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was wonderful stew! It made more than my crock pot could hold, so I had to transfer some to a pot on the stove before adding peas and mushrooms. That's not a problem, though, and I was very pleased with it overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I enjoyed it very much it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I am very impressed with this simple recipe. I didn't have venison or the browning sauce so I used beef and added in some spices and hot sauce. It is delicious! I think next time I will brown the beef separately to try and separate out the fat easier. I started this at night and put it on low overnight and waking up to these delicious aromas was heaven! I couldn't wait to dive in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was edible but not impressive. First off it was WAY too big to even come close to fitting in my crock pot, so unless you have a huge crock pot you need to halve the recipe. I had to transfer everything to a dutch oven and cook it in the oven. The "sauce" also didn't have much flavor, it definitely needs some more spices in there, and I think it would work better with a roux than the corn starch as a thickener. I'm going to keep looking for a good stew recipe, sorry but this didn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Loved this recipe! I am not a huge venison fan but my husband is an avid hunter and loves it, I will definitly be cooking this again. I used McCormick slow cooker beef stew seasoning instead of browning seasoning. I also left out the extra water. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Very very tasty i loved it. Next time im going to add a little more corn starch to it though cause it was a little more like soup then stew but overall it turned out wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States