Maine Venison Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Cut some venison round steak and used that. Family raved about how it was the best stew ever!! DH ate 3 helpings and the teen who only tolerates my cooking ate 2 helpings. Will definately make again. Be sure that you have a LARGE crock pot or it will not fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
this stew was good but when i made it i found that the venison came out very hrd and dry. thx but over ll vey deliciouos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
OK so I haven't tried this recipe yet but plan on it, however I do frequently make stew in the crockpot with our venison. I've taken recently to adding a package of dried brown gravy mix to the crock pot and it somehow thickens up the liquid nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I had to find a food to make that my husband who hates venison would enjoy. We ate it, and i said wow, you would never know this was venison. He said it is... Then scarfed down a huge amount of seconds. The only thing i did differently was that i added the juice from two cans of corn in the beggining, then the corn last with the peas and mushrooms.. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
GREAT Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I only made a 1/2 recipe and it filled my crockpot, glad I didn't try to fit the whole thing in it. This is a good start for a stew but the taste was just very bland. Needs.... something, I just haven't figured out what yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was very good and tasty, I added corn also, and I didn't use the browing sauce I didn't have. I used red potaotes and it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Very very tasty i loved it. Next time im going to add a little more corn starch to it though cause it was a little more like soup then stew but overall it turned out wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Loved this recipe! I am not a huge venison fan but my husband is an avid hunter and loves it, I will definitly be cooking this again. I used McCormick slow cooker beef stew seasoning instead of browning seasoning. I also left out the extra water. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was edible but not impressive. First off it was WAY too big to even come close to fitting in my crock pot, so unless you have a huge crock pot you need to halve the recipe. I had to transfer everything to a dutch oven and cook it in the oven. The "sauce" also didn't have much flavor, it definitely needs some more spices in there, and I think it would work better with a roux than the corn starch as a thickener. I'm going to keep looking for a good stew recipe, sorry but this didn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States