Maine Lobster Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was sooo good. I used half lobster and half imitation crab to cut down on the cost, because Wisconsin is a long way from Maine, and it was still delicious. I wish I'd used a pan bigger than 9 x 13 though, since mine overflowed and made a huge mess of the bottom of my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I am having a Valentine's Dinner here Saturday for our Gourmet Dinner Club (12 people), and this sounds perfect. However, in reading the reviews, I do plan to use REAL lobster and make the Easy Alfredo Sauce. One of the reviews said it tasted better the next day. I wonder if I prepare it the day before, bake it until almost done, then bring to room temp the day of the party and continue baking, if it would be too done and dry, and the lobster rubbery. Any suggestions? Can I make the alfredo sauce the day before? I hate to be in the kitchen while my guests are having all the fun! Also, what did everyone serve with this, since it's so rich? I plan to make baked oysters for firsr course, salad course, entree, then warm chocolate pudding with caramel sauce and vanilla ice cream for dessert? HELP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
The first time I made this recipe, about 5 years ago, it seemed better. This time I used 1 pound of lobster meat and 1 pound of large shrimp. I think that the cheddar cheese overpowered the other ingredients. It also seemed salty. Next time I think I'll omit the cheddar and try a different brand Alfredo (I used Newman's Own), or make my own, as others have suggested. Even in Maine, where lobster meat is $20/lb, I think that this is a once-every-five-years meal for a special event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as shown, with many doubts in my ability to make this. It turned out so great, and this was my first time eating lobster. It was easy and something uniquely different! Next time I may put grape tomatoes or even roasted red pepper on top? What a great dish, thank you so much for helping me create my first seafood meal! So going in the recipe box! *******PS: For individuals who said there was not enough of the ricotta mixture: First separate the mixture, then put dollops of it in different places. Spread it, and THEN put on the lobster pieces (That way you aren't smashing the lobster). You'll find it is enough. If you just put the whole amount in the middle and try to spread it on top of the lobster, it will not spread evenly. Don't be afraid to try this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
AMAZING! I had bought two small lobsters hoping to make some lobster salad, but I remembered seeing this recipe and hoping to try it someday. With lobsters in hand, it was the perfect excuse! First off, to make the recipe as written, you will need about 4 1 1/2 lb lobster chicks. Cook them and refrigerate them so they're cool when you remove the meat. This also removes the temptation of stealing a bite.. or ten! I cooked the chicks and also a 1 lb bag of frozen raw shrimp, then peeled/chopped everything up into bite-size pieces to assemble the lasagna. If you can you'll want to make your own alfredo sauce, as the jarred variety tends to be a little salty. I did use jarred sauce and it came out nicely though. I used about 3/4 of a bag of spinach because I had to feed some to my rabbit that night, but the spinach cooks down and does add a nice texture to the lasagna. When making lasagna, I always worry it won't all fit in the pan. The ingredients fit perfectly in a 9 x 13 inch pan and didn't spill over. The lasagna cooked down nicely to create beautiful layers. Someone mentioned not enough of the ricotta mix... here's a trick: dollop the ricotta rather than spread it, it spreads as it melts. Awesome recipe and I will be making again, possibly next Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
One of the best things I have ever eaten. I made it for Christmas gifting and everyone I gave it to loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was a huge hit but I rated it a four star because the recipe needs improvement. First of all, the 9 x 13 baking dish needs to be deeper then my 2 inch dish for three layers. I did run out of the ricotta cheese mixture, very thick, with just two layers. 1 1/2 cups, equals 1 jar, of Alfredo sause in the bottom of the baking dish means you'd need a third jar to finish 3 layers. The recipe calls for cubed Lobster meat which takes up a lot of room. Minced might be better for three layers. This is the second time we've made it and it was a big hit both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by limemonkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This was a very good recipe! We had lobster tails we bought on sale for $5 each and I wanted a different way to prepare them rather than the same ol' way. While I cut this recipe in half - it was still enough to feed our entire family. It's pretty rich so you really can only eat a couple of pieces at most. VERY YUMMY. A hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Wonderful stuff. But I would say this is more of a dish for a potluck or party because it's the kind of dish you only want 1 piece, but then after that you feel tired of it. It tastes amazing but it's easy to get sick of I have so much leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

How to Make Lasagna

See how to create a beautiful, classic lasagna in just a few easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States