Mahi Mahi with Onions and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
My husband just loved this recipe, Nagako. He doesn't much care for onions, though...so I only used one. I doubled the mushrooms, lemon juice & white wine. I also added 1 extra clove of garlic, a pinch each of parsley and rosemary and then 2 fresh snipped basil leaves at the end. I only thickened the sauce slightly, as we wanted enough to spread over rice. Served this with fresh steamed green beans, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
This was very good...I used maui onions and it turned out terrific....you better like onions though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2001
After cooking the fish with the sauce, you have to make and cook another newer and fresher sauce that you can pour on the fish so that the sauce will not be dark and overdone. The fish will taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Oh my this was super tasty and fast. I did make some changes after reading other reviews. I doubled the liquid, (wine and lemon juice), used an 8 oz. pkg. of baby bella mushrooms, chopped in half for a deeper flavor and more texture, added a little butter to the olive oil, and probably 6-8 garlic cloves. Also threw in a good quarter cup of fresh chopped basil leaves, and finished with a fresh chopped tomato just before serving. This is a quality, healthy dish with deep flavor. By doubling the liquid, the cornstarch thickening was minimal - just enough to keep it from being watery. Served it over whole wheat cous cous cooked in salt free broth, and garden fresh green beans. The little leftovers from lunch today were even better. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This recipe is fantastic! I have also used it with Talapia. I'm always looking for fish recipes that my kids will like, and all four plus my husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
Great flavor - next time I'll double the sauce ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
We loved this. I didn't have any mushrooms on hand, but it was still great and I used regular chardonnay, it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2001
lovely recipe for a quick seafood meal. my honey and I loved this one!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
This was an "okay" dinner served over whole wheat couscous and some homemade tartar sauce. I *did* add about two tablespoons of butter to the final sauce to enrichen it with flavor - even so, I don't think I will keep it in rotation at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONHALEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
My husband thought this was great, I however thought it was just OK. I probably won't make this again unless he asks for it. It just didn't have enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Ginger-Glazed Mahi Mahi

This easy glaze is rich-tasting yet light and healthy.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States