Mahi Mahi with Onions and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
One point of confusion: if we are flipping & seasoning the "other side" of the Mahi, but there is skin on that side... Our solution, flip the Mahi, then peel the skin. As it was soaking in the sauce, it was a very easy task with a sharp tong. I followed this recipe exactly and served it over basmati rice, which was the trick! The moist rice offset the fish so nicely. I will follow others' advice next time & double the sauce AND add more white wine, because our leftovers were a bit dry (though flavorful). Even the kids cleared their plates with this recipe. Next time Mahi is on sale, back to this recipe! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I love onions w mushrooms so this was good but from viewers note I added more sauce to have for pasta! w make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This one is a keeper for me. I had to adapt to the ingredients I had on hand which is certainly not my style. I used chicken broth instead of white wine & rice vinegar instead of lemon juice. Only had about about 1/2 cup of onions & sliced baby bella mushrooms. The sauce was delicious & pleasant change from my collection of fish recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
It was easy to make and I had all the ingredients in my kitchen, but the recipe was just ok. Next time I would only use 2 onions and an entire package of mushrooms. Also, I would add more garlic and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Reviewers that said that this recipe lacks flavor have no taste buds! This is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
My husband and I really liked this fish. I did use too much pepper so it was hot. My son tried the left overs and he enjoyed it. We will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was very good. I added a tiny bit of soy sauce, bay leaves, an parsley to this and more water and corn starch. The fish especially came out very tender and delicious - the sauce was good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
So simple and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was missing flavor. It didn't taste bad, it just didn't taste like much of anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
My husband and I both thought this recipe lacked any real flavor. His comment was that, while the dish wasn't offensive, it was kind of a waste of good mahi mahi. We won't make this one again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Ginger-Glazed Mahi Mahi

This easy glaze is rich-tasting yet light and healthy.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States