Mahi Mahi with Coconut Rice and Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This dish was amazing! I made a few changes to the original recipe, though. In the marinade, I added a tbsp or so of spiced rum. I used half as much rice since 2 cups of uncooked rice expands into an amount that I can't eat by myself (even 1 cup of dry is still a little too much for 4 servings). I made the biggest changes in the salsa: I cooked the mango following the recipe but then I put it in the refrigerator. I chopped up half a medium red onion, 1 avocado, 1 banana, and a little bit of fresh cilantro. I tossed that with the mango. On the side I wilted some fresh spinach in a little bit of chicken broth seasoned with garlic and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This recipe was excellent. I made it two ways (One with Mahi and one with Extra Firm Tofu), the tofu was excellent vegetarian alternative. Just make sure you press it and broil it for an addition 10-15 minutes. Otherwise prepare exactly the same. I substituted long grain brown rice and light coconut milk to lighten it up a bit, it was very good, but I imagine it would be better with the regular coconut milk. I cut back on the red peppers a bit and it was still pretty spicy, so be careful with this… you can always ad more; the coconut rice and mango do help to balance out the heat. Also I took the advice of one of the other reviewers and made a salsa to go along with it, a combination of avocado, cilantro, lime and salt…. YUM! I made a batch of the marinade and used it to sauté veggies for the side (Red bell peppers, mushroom, broccoli and red onion). It was very good and complimented the dish nicely. This recipe is a keeper! I think I will also try it with tilapia next time as recommended by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilTJones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was AMAZING, honestly one of the best Mahi Mahi dishes I have ever had let alone cooked. It was very easy to make and the flavors complimented each other well. The fish is slightly spicy, it would be wonderful served as is without the rice and Mango salsa but it really completes the dish when served together. The only thing I changed is that I grilled the fish instead of broiling it. I don't think it would have been nearly as good broiled. I will be making this again, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
an amazing meal! i did a few changes though on how i cooked my rice...i cooked it in a rice cooker...basically i just put all the ingredients in the rice cooker stir it..and instead of using 2 cups of water and a cube of bouillon, i used 2 cups of chicken broth and a dash of salt because i only have the 25% less sodium broth and yah it turned out great...the fish i did marinate and cooked as is...and yah my entire family loved it...no leftovers at all! very yummy! will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
If I could give this receipe 10 stars I would. This is the best recipe I have found on this site. I did not change a thing I just cut everything in half because I only made this recipe for 2 not 4. I see some people have been cutting back on the red pepper but I wouldn't and didn't. If you eat the fish on it own it would be too hot but plated the way the recipe tells you to it is perfect. All of the flavors go very well together and makes this recipe a true winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
this pic is not the right one to go with this recipe, does someone know what the correct ingred. are for this one, seems to be some red peppers and maybe cilantro or parsley in the mango salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Absolutely Wonderful!!! Followed the recipe with the exception of changing the number of servings to 6 and adding a couple TBS of diced red and orange bell pepper to the finished mango salsa and sprinkling of cilantro before serving. My rice had absorbed all the water in a shorter period of time than listed (approx 12 min) so I added approx. 1/4 cup of water and cooked for a few min before adding the coconut milk and sugar. The rice was delicious as instructed but next time I will add more coconut milk/water and cook a little longer (personal pref). We are already looking forward to adding this to the rotation for our big Sunday dinners and when we have company. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was by far one of the simplest and best tasting Mahi recipes I've found. I served it for guests who all asked for the recipe, which I took as a good sign! Visually I like the look of salsa on top of the fish, so I chopped the mango much smaller than in the photo and added some cilantro and finely chopped green onion to it as well. I was skeptical about the method of cooking the rice, worrried it may come out sticky but it was perfect and I've made it again since as a side dish to other meals. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was good, but even though I cut back on the amount of the red pepper flakes, it was a bit too hot for our tastes. The mango was a wonderful cooling accompanyment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole Cole
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Unbelievable good! My kids said it was the best fish they've ever had! I made the rice & mango salsa too and added grilled zucchini as a side dish. Only thing I changed was I added more fresh garlic to the marinade. I couldn't find a ripe fresh mango so I had to use Doles jarred mango & it was wonderful. Would recommend fresh if you can get it though. Yummy! Thank you! I added a photo of our meal because she didn't have one on this recipe page. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, California, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States