Mahi Mahi with Coconut Rice and Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Amy D
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Wonderful dish. I will be making this again. I had to make some adjustments based on what I had at my disposal. I used coconut cream instead of milk, and I skipped the lime. I didn't marinate the fish for a full hour – just until I'd prepped everything else. It still had plenty of scrumptious flavor. Also, I just put all the rice ingredients into my rice cooker and it worked perfectly. The rice was sooo good (I actually think the cream made it rich and fluffy). Also, I didn't have jasmine rice on hand (I live in Costa Rica, and it's expensive and sometimes hard to find here). The regular rice worked fine; although I'm sure jasmine would have been even better. I served it with steamed sweet red peppers and green beans (which conveniently cook in the steamer over the rice cooker). Colorful and delicious dish. Give it a go tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Overall, quick and delicious! Did not make coconut rice, just served over plain white rice. If you make it and have children consider reducing crushed red pepper. Also, if you have really sweet mangos you may consider reducing the amount of sugar in the salsa! Overall, quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe. I have made this several times for various people, both fish lovers and haters, and they all love this recipe. The sauce is also great for chicken! I would certainly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Very spicy! Next time, reduce the red pepper flakes or scrape off before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Wow. We had this tonight for dinner and it was awesome. Normally I will tweak a recipe, but for this I followed the recipe pretty much to a T. The coconut rice was a HUGE hit with my fiance, who is generally not a fan of coconut. If I were to add anything to this, it would be some nice chopped cilantro at the end. Overall, I rate this delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaymac27

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Sweet & Spicy. Good flavor and easy to make. Some of my family loved it while some thought a hint too sweet. Overall, great recipe for those wanting a sweet & spicy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Fabulous! I do decrease the red peppers. It is one of the family favorites. I don't put my fish in fridge to marinate.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Delicious, healthy and so easy! My husband loves mahi mahi and this is the first time I cooked it--he loved it...said I 'out did myself' haha! Only change I made was couscous instead of rice. The red pepper marinade complimented the mango perfectly! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Yummy! My Husband, kids and niece (5, 2, and 9months) all devoured this. Felt like I made the recipe pretty much spot on, but after thinking about it I guess I did change up some things... Forgot the ginger in the marinade, used brown rice with 1 cup water and 1 cup homemade chicken stock, no bouillon. Followed some of the other suggestions for the mango salsa by adding some onion, finely chopped sweet red pepper with the mango, after it was done I threw in some cubed avocado and a splash of lemon juice. Next time I'll add cilantro, lime juice and red onion. But otherwise it was delish. Its definitely going into our rotation of dinners. I did use like a 1/4 the amount of red pepper flakes because my kids are super spice wimps. And I thought it was perfect but I still had to scrape off some of the spices left on the fish for them. Its just cuz of the hot spots left from the flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Absolutely delicious meal! It was such a success. I made it with hake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States