Maharani Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Copiously unique! I'm the only reviewer of this recipe and I was excited to take my first bite. The combination of flavors were unbelieveably harmonious, especially if you like exotic flavors of the East and the Tropics. You will be delightfully surprised by this cupcake! Definitely NOT for the faint of palette! I used Duncan Heinz butter recipe yellow cake mix; 1 Tbsp of mild curry, 1 Tbsp of coconut extract and 4 cups of powder sugar in total and it was plentiful. Next time, I will shred the sweetened flaked coconuts more to keep the taste, yet not so pronounced in texture. Used only 1 stem of the basil and it perfumed the frosting perfectly. It is a process, but I believe it will be a recipe you'll want to use when you want something that can only be experienced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
These were delish!! I made them for an indian themed dinner club and they were the hit of the party. All the flavors (coconut, lemon, curry, and basil) meld together wonderfully to create a "party in my mouth" as a guest said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I tried making these for a gathering the other night. When I told people what I brought at first they were shocked, but everyone was won over when they tried them! Thank you for posting such a delicious and creative recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
These cupcakes are delicious and do have the distinct Indian flavor. I used 1/2 of the Sweet Curry Lemon Curd and 1/2 of the prepared Sweet Basil Cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I liked the curry curd and thought it went very well with the basil cream. However, as good as the basil cream was, the frosting was too sweet. I would cut the sugar back by at least 1 cup. I also had a ton of the frosting leftover. I beat my egg whites and folded them into the cake batter. The cakes were lighter but they still have the distinct taste of a mix. Overall a good cupcake to serve to friends with a more adventuresome palate. Thank you for sharing mkecupcakequeen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
These are so exotic and excellent. My mom came by as I was preparing the basil cream topping and she tasted a bit. She was horrified that I was making such a thing, but I told her to be patient and wait for the final result. You need to experience all the flavors at once, not individually. Well, once she tasted the finished cupcake she was sold. These will surely impress friends. I would say that the amount of basil called for might be too much...I used one bunch and it is VERY strongly flavored. I would say just one or two leaf/stems would work just fine. You want the flavors to subtly mingle and the basil is a tad overpowering at this point. For the Lemon curd I used only half a teaspoon of curry and it is PERFECT. Very delicious and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Each individual part of these cupcakes is very good: the coconut cupcakes, the curry lemon curd and the basil cream. Together though, the taste was a little bizarre. I enjoyed eating it, though I didn't want to have another one. I guess I don't like my desserts to taste like dinner. However, the coconut cupcakes are the best I've ever had. I made them again and made a frosting of 1 part cream to 2 parts powdered sugar- whip until desired consistency and add orange blossom water or jasmine flavoring to taste. They were to die for this way and I served them at a party...people were begging me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Well, I really appreciate the creative combination of flavors. 2 tablespoons of mild curry, however, was waaaay too much. Next time I'll try 1 teaspoon max. The curd did not set much. Next time I'll heat it on the stove top where it's far easier to watch it thicken. The basil cream topping I made was lovely and subtle. But I only used 2 leafy 'stems' of basil- about 20 total basil leaves. I suspect a full bunch would be far too overpowering. I'll try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
The best cupcakes I have ever had. Takes time but well worth the time. Do the lemon curd and basil cream the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
So unusual and delicious. Very interesting flavor combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States