Maharani Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I made 50 mini cupcakes for a birthday and everyone loved them. They were hesitant at first but after the first bite they were hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Everyone at work looooved this. As a precautionary measure for less adventurous palates, I took most reviewers' advice and used 1 tablespoon of curry powder. Everything else was as per recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Needed to tone down the curry flavor, so used a little over 1 tsp. Same with the basil in the cream. An entire bunch would have been far too strong, so used about 3-4 stems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
We went to a theme party which food from India was served. I had to make dessert. Found this recipe and gave it a try. We got rave reviews. One friend said it was the best cupcake she ever had. The presentation is beautiful. The Lemon curd made it very special and extra yummy. The only thing I would do is to half the recipe for the basil cream. It made way to much. Had to throw half away or else I would eat it! We served it with the rose ice cream to make the Dessert complete! Thank you! Donna from Bronx,N.Y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Loved this exotic recipe! I made mini cupcakes with a few minor changes. First, I made my own curry powder using 1 tsp turmeric, 2 tsp ground cumin, 1 tsp coriander powder, 1 tsp chili powder, a pinch of cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg, and a pinch of cardamom. I am not a big fan of cream cheese frosting so I completely omitted the frosting, instead just using the basil infused whipped topping which was delicious! Next time I think I will pipe the sweet curry lemon cream into the cupcake! Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
sooo delicious! My friends and I did a weekly dinner where we picked a country and each made food from that country. I chose this as the dessert for our India night and had different people from the group each make a different part. Then end result was beautiful and delectable. Everyone went gaga over these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
i was very hesitant to try these but am i glad i did! These cupcakes are so unique (in a good way). I made these for a summer party and I also made regular coconut cupcakes with a custard and frosting. After and hour these were gone and I had to take leftovers of the others home! I did modify the recipe for my own tastes and per other suggestions though. First of all I made a coconut cake from scratch (i never use box mix). Second, for the lemon curd I used regular curry and only put in about 1 teaspoon. That was more than enough for my taste. I would recommend starting with less and adding as you cook it if you so desire. Third, for the frosting i used a bit more cream cheese and way less sugar. I always add sugar as i go to any frosting and stop when it is sweet enough. Everyone agreed the basil frosting was the best part! I strongly recommend everyone try these, if you're scared just make a smaller batch (and then wish you'd made more)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
These cupcakes are amazing! Used the Duncan Hines butter yellow cake mix, Meyer lemons off our tree, and reduced the curry to 1 tsp. When I tasted the lemon curd I thought it was still too much curry but when you have all the flavors together they are delicious! We had an Indian-themed birthday lunch at work and everyone raved about dessert! I took everyone's advice and made 1/2 the recipe of curd and frosting and it was plenty for the dozen and a half it made. Thanks for expanding our palate's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This recipe is amazing - I've made it for friends, relatives, and coworkers and have yet to meet someone who doesn't like them. I followed everyone else's recommendations and only used 1 Tbsp of curry and it turned out great. You will have a ton of curd left over, but the good news is that it freezes beautifully and makes future batches a cinch. However, do NOT listen to other reviewers' suggestions to cut down on the powdered sugar - it changes the consistency of the frosting and makes it really runny. I cut the frosting recipe in half and still had some left over. These cupcakes also do well as a mini-cupcake version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
DID NOT LIKE AT ALL. was making these for Indian lunch day at work and I didn't even take them in. Basil cream was ineatable and the lemon curd had way to much curry. The cupcake might have been ok but with different icing. Would not reccommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States