Maharaja Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Easy to make, but not quite what I've come to expect from "authentic" Indian food. I felt it was missing something, but couldn't quite put my finger on what. It's a good place to start, but needs a little tweaking . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very, very bland and not very tasty at all. I followed the recipe to the letter, but it was missing something and did not taste like curry. The spice was nice, but that is about it. Both my husband and I tried adding all kinds of other typical curry spices, but nothing could save this dish. Although bland and not that great, I still ate it. My husband, on the other hand, would not take more than a few bites. We were both very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I've made this a couple of times. It's great in it's simplicity to prepare. Good flavor, though it might need some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This dish tasted good but I think it needed more spices, maybe more garam masala. It tasted a little too close to spaghetti sauce. But we still enjoyed it. Changes: I used 1 large onion, 2 14-oz. cans of diced tomatoes, and added mixed vegetables to it at the end. I'll probably make it again but with more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Really good curry. I made this vegetarian and served it over brown rice. It was healthy and good tasting. I had alot of leftover sauce so i used it the next day, added some chicken broth and made a soup out of it. It tunred out great. All things considered this was a really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
outstanding dish. Simple to make and tastes like it took alot of effort. The only thing different I did was to add already grilled and diced chicken that I keep in my freezer for quick fixes. I also will not use the cayenne pepper next time (as it is NOT kid friendly)only a small pinch at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I am a cook of not much experience but I found this easy to follow and the results were fantastic. Improvised with a couple of the ingredients and added in potatos to it also due to personal taste and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was fantasic, very very flavorful. Only change I made was that I didn't use the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayellpee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
The flavors don't blend very nicely. Tastes like chicken in tomato sauce. Try the Tikka Masala recipe, it's much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Sakowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
It was pretty good after a few minor changes. First, I added salt, since the recipe didn't call for any. Then, I found it to be a little too tomatoey, and spicey, so I added about a cup of plain yogourt, which did the trick. Also, when pureeing it, I would advise you to puree the onions and cumin first, cuz the cumin seeds stay whole if pureeing with the tomatoes. Also, I used beef pieces(for stir fry), and sauteed them a bit in the pan before adding the rest. It came out really good. I loved the flavor of the spices together. Served with basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States