Maharaja Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Strangely, I made this experimenting with Indian spices before I had the recipe (except I threw in some kidney beans). The fresh ginger, garlic and other spices are wonderful - don't even think about using powdered ginger. However, canned tomatoes (I used fire roasted) work nicely. The whole family was really happy with this, and it was a great change from our usual fare, without running up the budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Great! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri McCall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Easy to make, but not quite what I've come to expect from "authentic" Indian food. I felt it was missing something, but couldn't quite put my finger on what. It's a good place to start, but needs a little tweaking . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very, very bland and not very tasty at all. I followed the recipe to the letter, but it was missing something and did not taste like curry. The spice was nice, but that is about it. Both my husband and I tried adding all kinds of other typical curry spices, but nothing could save this dish. Although bland and not that great, I still ate it. My husband, on the other hand, would not take more than a few bites. We were both very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I've made this a couple of times. It's great in it's simplicity to prepare. Good flavor, though it might need some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This dish tasted good but I think it needed more spices, maybe more garam masala. It tasted a little too close to spaghetti sauce. But we still enjoyed it. Changes: I used 1 large onion, 2 14-oz. cans of diced tomatoes, and added mixed vegetables to it at the end. I'll probably make it again but with more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Really good curry. I made this vegetarian and served it over brown rice. It was healthy and good tasting. I had alot of leftover sauce so i used it the next day, added some chicken broth and made a soup out of it. It tunred out great. All things considered this was a really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
outstanding dish. Simple to make and tastes like it took alot of effort. The only thing different I did was to add already grilled and diced chicken that I keep in my freezer for quick fixes. I also will not use the cayenne pepper next time (as it is NOT kid friendly)only a small pinch at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I am a cook of not much experience but I found this easy to follow and the results were fantastic. Improvised with a couple of the ingredients and added in potatos to it also due to personal taste and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was fantasic, very very flavorful. Only change I made was that I didn't use the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayellpee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States