Magpie's Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I rated this recipe, but I had to adjust the ingredients according to what I had available. I also did not measure anything; I just went by how much I thought I wanted of each indredient and 'dumped it'. I had no mint, I did add red onions and pepper. Oh my, oh my...what a good dip! I am sitting here eating it with low-sodium wheat thins even now! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Very nice! this is an iranian side dish! not greek! its called masto-khiyar. We serve it at every lunch/dinner along with salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sally
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Easy, fresh and delicious. I had to use regular cucumbers as that's what I had and I did add just 1 tsp. fresh minced onion. Very nice with the mint. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Oh so easy, and tasted amazing. We added this to gyros and it was exactly what I'd been looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
The only thing I added was a dash of honey. Probably doesnt make it authentic greek, but it made a great sauce even better! For me, it was the finishing touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was enjoyed by my entire family. I used a regular seeded cucumber and finely diced it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Spectacular with Falafal! It's a great Greek-style sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I wanted a yogurt-cucumber sauce that had minimal ingredients but still tasted like it should. I used what I had on hand, so I didn't add the mint, but that was ok. The cap fell off my dill so there was probably a tablespoons worth in mine, still just as good. I also added 1/2 tbs. of garlic powder and 1tbs. of sour cream just to thicken it up a little. Perfect pairing for my falafel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
It's a great, easy to make, few ingredients sauce ! I didn't like the addition of honey, didn't have dill, so I used 1 chopped green onion. Added some garlic powder, instead of fresh one. Note: check first your cucumbers: they could be bitter ! I had to through mine away, and then used some English cucumber, which was good. Go thru the precedure with cucumber to the letter of the recipe ! I fried ground lamb patties and the sauce was a great companion to them. Bon Appetit !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I'm not a big cucumber sauce fan but I thought I'd try it. I think maybe I didn't cut the cucumbers up small enough because it was really thick. Maybe next time I can use a mixer for just a few seconds thin it out.c
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States