Magnificent Cheesy Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This is great. We were out of brown rice (someone overlooked this in the store :-)) and substituted arborio rice. It worked great. (you do have to soak the arborio rice in your water for 20 min. before you cook it for 15 min.) but it takes the cheese very well. One time we were out of cheddar and used the dreaded processed. . . it worked too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjimom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
A wonderful alternate to what can sometimes taste like cardboard! I make it with chicken bullion instead of plain water, and add about a 1/4 cup more liquid than suggested. I then also add about a 1/2 can of mushroom soup, and spread the rice in a casserole dish (prepped with Pam) before putting the cheese on top of the dish. Then I put the dish in the oven on about 425 degrees until the cheese is melted and a little golden. It's absolutely to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I made this for a side dish tonight. I thought it was really good. My family also liked it very much! The only thing I will do differently is cooking the peppers and onions longer. There is a fine line between cooking them nicely and over cooking them. I will make this again!!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FitnessLovingMom
Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Yummy! I made a few changes which is why I only rated 4 stars. I didn't have bell peppers, but I had so many jalapeno peppers from my garden. I added one jalapeno pepper chopped. I sauteed the pepper and onion and added about a cup of frozen broccoli which I let thaw slightly. I also boiled the rice in chicken broth to give more flavor. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
made as directed adding cooked chicken. Extremely tasty with the cheese. I will be adding cheese on a regular basis to my brown rice. Amazing how good it tastes bringing boring brown rice to popping yum-yum. The onions and peppers gave a sweet balance. This is a super easy recipe that you will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
After reading reviews, I decided to help try to fight the blandness by sauteing half a medium onion and 2 cloves of garlic in oil for making 2 servings of rice. When the onion was soft, I added 1/3C brown rice and sauteed a few minutes. Then I added a little under 2/3C chicken stock and a handful of frozen peas and carrots (skipped the bell pepper). Brought to a boil, covered, reduced heat to low, and simmered 45min. Then stirred in a few handfuls of freshly shredded medium cheddar. If you want better flavor, you have to use medium or sharp cheddar. Added sea salt and white pepper to taste and it was pretty good. I might go with the sharp cheddar myself next time, and maybe use broccoli florets instead of peas/carrots. Could also add diced carrot to the onion saute for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This was creamy and had good intentions, but it was a little bland for us. I will probably make this again, but tweak it for flavor. It's not bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
An easy and tasty recipe :) I usually add some broccoli to mine and everyone loves it - especially my 4 yr old who LOVES broccoli! Next time, will try mushrooms and the bell peppers :) This also makes a great stuffing for boneless skinless chicken breasts ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Try this recipe with various vegetables (your taste), sesame seeds, and a little soy sauce for extra flavor. My kids used to love it with salsa and nutritional yeast on top. I know that signs strange, but it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Didnt have bell peppers but was still good. A different take on just plain brown rice. Cooked in chicken broth not water for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States