Magnificent Cheesy Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I'm watching what I eat so I have switched to Brown rice ..came across this recipe ... totally simple and tastes yummy ! I used extra sharp cheddar. My daughter suggested adding some diced grilled chicken but this recipe is so versatile it can be a side dish or make it a main dish ! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was a big hit with my husband, even as a main course. I made mine with sautéed mushrooms, onion and green pepper, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
a little bland and dry as is. i even added 2 cloves of garlic with the veggies, and a little butter and a splash of 2% milk along with salt, pepper, and parmesan cheese toward the end. i will try to work with the recipe, though, because i like the idea of sneaking veggies into rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was pretty good. I added garlic, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is my go-to side dish for anything grilled! The bell peppers are a fantastic touch that really make the flavors pop out. Will often use a little chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Outstanding....I used regular cheddar cheese and sharp cheddar, going half and half. Also added broccoli with the red onions and bell pepper mix. Add this with fresh string beans and carrots sautéd in coconut oil with garlic and you got you self a very tasty meal...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kearny, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
this rice recipe was a hit with my sons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I absolutely love this dish. I use chicken broth instead of water to prepare the rice and even add a tad of cayenne pepper (barely a pinch). With the peppers & onion, added mushrooms, a couple garlic bulbs. First time I made it, I added the cheese, it was great. Now I make it without adding the cheese, don't want the extra chloresterol. O I use cocoanut oil to saute the peppers, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
So yummy! I added sliced chicken parmesan sausage and made a meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Nice simple way to add a vegetable to a brown rice side. Used vegetable broth instead of water & instant brown rice to cut back on the cooking time. Also used 1 1/2 peppers & scallions. Will try different seasonings next time - I can see how some might find it bland, especially since plain brown rice doesn't have the sodium like other rice side dishes do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States