Magical Mint Kiss Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
These cookies are so good and so easy to make. They taste like the Girl Scout's Thin Mints. (if you don't like mint try plain kisses, they are still yummy) I used as little dough as possible to cover the kisses and got at least 6 dozen cookies out of the recipe. My only complaint was the amount of flour made them a little bit dry so I'll probably reduce the amount next time, but even that didn't affect the taste. I’ll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
These are very easy to make. They are almost like chocolate shortbread around the mint kiss. We thought they tasted better the day after they were made. The only thing we didn't like was that they are a bit flour-y. Also, we thought the cookies that only had just enough dough around them to cover the candy tasted the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
DELICIOUS!!!!!!! I used 1 2/3c - 1 3/4c flour since other comments said to use less. I did some without the powder sugar & great also. Had to put in the freezer so we didn't eat them all right away. May try just the cookie part (without mints) for chocolate cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I made these cookies for a Christmas party. Most people thought they were awesome. They were a hit. The dough was sticky when I first tried to handle it. I refrigerated it until it was chilled and the dough was much more pliable and easy to handle. If the dough is chilled, the cookies probably will not spread as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I think these cookies taste fantastic, especially when hot (but not right out of the oven - the melty kiss will BURN your tongue!) These cookies were a big hit, with or without powdered sugar (some liked it without.) I accidentally melted my butter beforehand, and mine turned out great - the cookies looked somewhat like chocolate truffles, and didn't expand very much, but had some great semi-crunchy parts. However, I have a big complaint about how long it takes to make these cookies - it took me a ridiculous amount of time, because I was trying to cover each kiss completely, and the dough would get very crumbly and dry. I really recommend this recipe, but only if you have an ample amount of time to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
These are delicious!!! Loved by everyone. I followed this recipe exactly as it was written and had no problems at all!! The cookies were easy to make and baked quickly. When it came to the powdered sugar, I dumped a bit into a Ziploc bag and rolled about five cookies around at a time. Saves on mess and time. These cookies were taken to the office and were gone in no time at all. Also, the recipe was requested by many of my co-workers. I will make these cookies again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I made two batches of these and thought they turned out really well and tasted great. One batch I tried reducing the flour to 1 3/4 cup and they didn't hold their "ball" shape. So I personally can't recommend reducing the flour. I think it depends on how you measure your flour (I spoon the flour into the measuring cup rather than scooping it out of the container). I wouldn't recommend using milk or egg, this will alter the chemistry of the recipe. Make sure your butter is VERY soft before you start and use a smaller amount of dough to cover each kiss. Don't overcrowd the cookie sheet, they won't rise but they will spread just a little bit. I think these will go over well at my cookie exchange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is a great recipe if you do a couple of things. Use cake and pastry flour instead of all purpose it tends to be a little more moist. Add an extra tsp of Vanilla. Also I couldn't find Mint Kisses so I used Hugs instead, I would of liked a little more of a minty taste but these were a great replacment. Everyone loved the results. This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I loved the kisses themselves.. tasted to me just like the thin mint girl scout cookies. As far as the actual cookies, they were good but I could only take but so much of the sweetness. I ate some and sent the rest with my husband to work so I wouldn't gain too much weight. Very addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
My grandaughter and I made these cookies last week and they were not a big hit. They didn't have much taste and the chocolate cookie part was rather dry and crumbly. We won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States