Magical Mint Kiss Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
These are very easy to make. They are almost like chocolate shortbread around the mint kiss. We thought they tasted better the day after they were made. The only thing we didn't like was that they are a bit flour-y. Also, we thought the cookies that only had just enough dough around them to cover the candy tasted the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
These cookies are so good and so easy to make. They taste like the Girl Scout's Thin Mints. (if you don't like mint try plain kisses, they are still yummy) I used as little dough as possible to cover the kisses and got at least 6 dozen cookies out of the recipe. My only complaint was the amount of flour made them a little bit dry so I'll probably reduce the amount next time, but even that didn't affect the taste. I’ll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
We found these cookies to be pretty dry (as with previous reviewers, I would suggest lessening the amount of flour) and the mint flavor was really overwhelming. If you are a big mint lover, you will probably like them, however. I may make them again at Christmas and try regular kisses, as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
DELICIOUS!!!!!!! I used 1 2/3c - 1 3/4c flour since other comments said to use less. I did some without the powder sugar & great also. Had to put in the freezer so we didn't eat them all right away. May try just the cookie part (without mints) for chocolate cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
We could not find the mint Kisses, so we substituited almond Kisses and added mint extract to the cookie dough. They turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I did not like these at all. I tried to use all of the flour and it started to get too dry, so I went ahead and made them. It took a lot longer for them to cook, and then they tasted awful. The only sweet part was the kiss- which is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I don't think I will ever make this again. I was so excited to make these - they sounded so wonderful. The dough was so dry (I used 1 1/2 cups flour) that I couldn't get it to stick to the kisses. If you make this add some more liquid - don't just lessen the flour. Add an egg or milk or something cause you're going to need the moisture. Difficult and frustrating to work with and not that fabulous tasting because of the cookies being so dry. I'm still disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I don't think I will keep this one around, I did not like this cookie at all. My husband did though so I guess it takes a certain kind of taste. It was very floury (I even reduced the flour to 1 3/4 cup per other review suggestion)and minty. I knew it was going to have a mint flavor, and I like mint flavor, but this was extreme!!! I already threw the recipe away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Claus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fortville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
My grandaughter and I made these cookies last week and they were not a big hit. They didn't have much taste and the chocolate cookie part was rather dry and crumbly. We won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I made the batch half mint and half regular. personally, I thought that the regular ones tasted better. As far as the complaints about the batter being too dry, If you just hold it in your hand for a few second and press it together, the butter melts and it is easy to wrap the kisses. I also preferred to leave the powdered sugar off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Parkesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States