Magical Mint Kiss Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
These were good, but real dry except for the mint kiss inside. Probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
My kids rave over these chocolate gems and the minty center is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Unlike other reviews, my batter seemed to be too wet. (I live in Florida, made the cookies on a rainy day - lots of moisture in the air.) They didn't stay in balls but spread out. End result: the cookies were still dry and crumbly. Everyone loved them because of the kiss - next time I'll make a good chocolate cookie and put the kiss on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I think these cookies taste fantastic, especially when hot (but not right out of the oven - the melty kiss will BURN your tongue!) These cookies were a big hit, with or without powdered sugar (some liked it without.) I accidentally melted my butter beforehand, and mine turned out great - the cookies looked somewhat like chocolate truffles, and didn't expand very much, but had some great semi-crunchy parts. However, I have a big complaint about how long it takes to make these cookies - it took me a ridiculous amount of time, because I was trying to cover each kiss completely, and the dough would get very crumbly and dry. I really recommend this recipe, but only if you have an ample amount of time to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Flavor was great, but lacked character of presentation, so I drizzled melted white chocolate over them in a zig-zag pattern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
These are delicious!!! Loved by everyone. I followed this recipe exactly as it was written and had no problems at all!! The cookies were easy to make and baked quickly. When it came to the powdered sugar, I dumped a bit into a Ziploc bag and rolled about five cookies around at a time. Saves on mess and time. These cookies were taken to the office and were gone in no time at all. Also, the recipe was requested by many of my co-workers. I will make these cookies again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This recipe is quick and easy. I made it for my cookie exchange this year, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
my father and husband did not like them at all. my mother thought it was too much work for the result achieved and i had to agree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fitchburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brodhead, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is a great recipe if you do a couple of things. Use cake and pastry flour instead of all purpose it tends to be a little more moist. Add an extra tsp of Vanilla. Also I couldn't find Mint Kisses so I used Hugs instead, I would of liked a little more of a minty taste but these were a great replacment. Everyone loved the results. This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I made two batches of these and thought they turned out really well and tasted great. One batch I tried reducing the flour to 1 3/4 cup and they didn't hold their "ball" shape. So I personally can't recommend reducing the flour. I think it depends on how you measure your flour (I spoon the flour into the measuring cup rather than scooping it out of the container). I wouldn't recommend using milk or egg, this will alter the chemistry of the recipe. Make sure your butter is VERY soft before you start and use a smaller amount of dough to cover each kiss. Don't overcrowd the cookie sheet, they won't rise but they will spread just a little bit. I think these will go over well at my cookie exchange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States