Magic Walnut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I made 2/3 of a batch (I only had 1 c. of walnuts). DISASTER. I ended up with three sandwiches. The first batch I guess I didn't cook or didn't cool long enough. I ended up with a huge pile of cookie mush while trying to scrap them off the Silpat. The second batch I cooked for 15-20 mins. and this was the batch that actually was ok. I had to let them cool for a while and then carefully pull them off of my Silpat with my fingers (NO SPATULAS, they just make a mess). So, I thought I'd try to spray my Silpats with some Pam. That resulted in two batches of extremely flat, burned, unicookies with major holes. Not salvageable. We did enjoy the three cookies we could eat, but not worth an expensive bag of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Definitely takes some practice to get them just right, but very enjoyable! I used dark brown sugar instead of white and used a mixer to beat it until it was light brown. Its the cooking time that's the difficult to perfect. I baked them for 10 minutes in a 300 degree oven. As far as getting them off. I found the best approach was to try to get the paper off the cookie instead of the cookie off the paper. The completed cookies are VERY good and very fancy. If you're willing to put in the time and effort, its a great reward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Mine did not come out completely like the pictures, but it was close enough for me and everyone else. They were DELICIOUS. Big hit in my family. I did lower the cooking temperature to 325 F, and cooked them until just the edges were lightly browned (about 8-10 minutes I think). As other reviews state, it is far easier to try to get the paper off of the cookie, not the other way around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My cookies turned out flat due to the amount of pam i used, BUT they were very good. Nice and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Cookies were only okay, not worth the time it took to peel the paper off of them. It didn't work to just do them on a cookie sheet with Pam. the best way to cook them was on wax paper sprayed down with some Pam, they still stuck a little. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Very tasty almost too sweet. I didn't beat unto peaks the cookies were very flat almost lace-like. I let the sheet cool on a rack and then turned upsidedown on the rack. After a few minutes I was able to carefully pull the sheet off the cookies. My kids like them a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This would be a 5 star recipe if the instructions were more clear. I think the reason people are having trouble with this recipe is because you have the whip the egg whites until foamy, then gradually beat in the sugar until you get a meringue. Next you fold in the walnuts and bake as directed. I got wonderful fluffy cookies following this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silverwing05

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
disaster for me too :( they ended up burnt on the bottom and gooey on the top/middle. 2 stars because I think it will work out with recipe changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I bake my on a Pampers Chef cookie stone sprayed very lightly with Pam and I have have no problem. These cookies are addictive!! Looks and tastes like you fussed, but really very easy and fast! I always get compliments in these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgiaskibunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States