Magic Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
One look at the instructions for this recipe made me doubt the fluffiness, so I made it using the same ingredients, but as a usual cake. Beat shortening(or butter) with sugar until fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Alternately add flour mixture and buttermilk and beat for another minute or two before pouring into prepared pans. Came out truly magical! It could use a little more spice, perhaps some allspice or more cinnamon. Otherwise, absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
My family and I loved this cake. I used butter intead of shortening and left everything else the same. It is mildly spiced and delicious. We ate it plain and it was gone in a day. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I have made this in both cake form and as cupcakes. It was a huge hit at my boss' birthday party made exactly as the recipe says but I do make some changes now. I agree with a lot of the posts here that say it's not spiced enough. I add quite a bit more of the spices in the recipe as well as allspice. I can't say how much I use because I just add until it looks spiced enough. This is now my boyfriends favorite cake; I make it for his birthday every year in cupcake form. Not too sure why people are admitting to altering the recipe completely and then giving a low rating saying it didn't turn out well... Just follow the recipe to the letter the 1st time around. You wont be disappointed. I like it with and without frosting. I also like to sprinkle some cinnamon on top of the icing as well as mixing some of the spices into the icing. It screams I'm a spice cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Campbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Texas, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I tried it...it was a great simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
This is one of the best spice cake recipes I have found, moist and delicious. My family is always requesting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I made this cake for a groom's cake at a friend's wedding. It was a huge hit. Everyone there wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was my first spice cake ever, and it went over quite well with my extended family at Thanksgiving. Instead of icing it, I whipped up an applesauce recipe that I found on this site and served them together. They were a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This is my favorite spice cake recipe. I've made it 4 times now, and this time was my first making it at a high altitude (4500 feet), and with only very slight adjustments, it was still very moist! I changed from shortening to butter, because I like butter better, and I also added 1/4 tsp allspice, and an extra 1/4 tsp cinnamon for a spicier cake, because it just doesn't smell spicy enough for me the way the recipe calls for. For anyone at high altitudes, the only adjustments I made were I removed 1 tbsp sugar, and 1/8 tsp of baking powder, added 1 tbsp of 2% milk, 1 tbsp butter and 1 extra egg, and it came out moist, and didn't rise too early. It looked and tasted great with a simple cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I increased the spices to 1 tsp each. I didn't have buttermilk or even plain milk so I used my favorite standby of nonfat powdered milk. I added 1 tbsp of white vinegar and let sit 5 minutes. Worked great and had the advantage of reducing fat. Good thing because my hubby will eat one of these in a day!! It's his favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States