Magic Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was great but I did make some changes. I didn't have buttermilk, so just used 1 c. milk and 1 TB lemon juice mixed in. Also, I did a full teaspoon of cinnamon and added 1 tsp. ginger, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp. allspice since one reviewer said it was bland. These spices made it taste great. I just threw it all into one large rectangle cake pan instead of two round ones and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This is my favorite spice cake recipe. I've made it 4 times now, and this time was my first making it at a high altitude (4500 feet), and with only very slight adjustments, it was still very moist! I changed from shortening to butter, because I like butter better, and I also added 1/4 tsp allspice, and an extra 1/4 tsp cinnamon for a spicier cake, because it just doesn't smell spicy enough for me the way the recipe calls for. For anyone at high altitudes, the only adjustments I made were I removed 1 tbsp sugar, and 1/8 tsp of baking powder, added 1 tbsp of 2% milk, 1 tbsp butter and 1 extra egg, and it came out moist, and didn't rise too early. It looked and tasted great with a simple cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
There is a popular-brand cinnamon swirl cake mix that we can't get anymore where we live, and I was looking for a recipe here at Allrecipes.com to replace it. This recipe turned out to be nothing like what I was looking for, but I am SO glad I found it. Making the recipe exactly as written, the end product is a very dense cake with the texture of a good spice bread. Unlike most of the spice cakes I've had, it is not overpoweringly spicy, nor is it tremendously sweet. It's a refreshingly different kind of cake, and we all really enjoyed it. Some notes/suggestions: (1) I recommend making this in a single-layer rectangular pan. (2) When making this cake batter, it is very important that you beat the cake AS STATED for the times stated in the recipe. Your cake will not have the intended texture if you take shortcuts (like hand mixing or mixing for less time than called for) or if you overbeat the batter after the eggs have been added. So...follow the instructions. (3) If you don't like cloves, substitute ginger or allspice, etc. Just DON'T substitute all of them. Pick ONE as a substitute and go with that. Adding a tsp of three other flavors is going to overpower this cake and make it unfit to eat, in my opinion. This is a great recipe. Thanks so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Nix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
One look at the instructions for this recipe made me doubt the fluffiness, so I made it using the same ingredients, but as a usual cake. Beat shortening(or butter) with sugar until fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Alternately add flour mixture and buttermilk and beat for another minute or two before pouring into prepared pans. Came out truly magical! It could use a little more spice, perhaps some allspice or more cinnamon. Otherwise, absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Delicious and easy to make! I personally subbed egg nog for the buttermilk to make a holiday cake. I also make a basic white frosting and flavored it with egg nog. Great Recipe! Lends itself well to modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Whew - I just wanted a quick, moist spice cake that didn't really even need a frosting. I just made the recipe as stated with a few adjustments for high altitude. I was confused because it said original recipe - 1 - 9 inch pan but called for 2. The batter seemed really stiff and I decided to check them at 1/2 cooking time-they were already done! The cakes were really crumbly & slightly dry and bland so I make the orange glaze from another recipe, adding some almond and rum extract & poked holes in both layers to soak it up. I also added chopped pecans on both layers. I think it's OK, but not fantastic. Maybe it'll be better in morning after soaking a bit in fridge. A cream cheese or whip cream frosting would probably be good too. It's just a lot of tweaks for what should be a simple spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
What a disappointment. It was very dry and the flavor was not like any spice cake I've had before. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I made this cake for a groom's cake at a friend's wedding. It was a huge hit. Everyone there wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
ewwww
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
A delicious spice cake, but needed twice the amount of spices. Perhaps a little less salt or leavening too. Paired well with ginger ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States