Magic Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
One look at the instructions for this recipe made me doubt the fluffiness, so I made it using the same ingredients, but as a usual cake. Beat shortening(or butter) with sugar until fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Alternately add flour mixture and buttermilk and beat for another minute or two before pouring into prepared pans. Came out truly magical! It could use a little more spice, perhaps some allspice or more cinnamon. Otherwise, absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Great cake!! I added a little nutmeg and replace the shortening with butter, like many of you did.. amazing! I topped it with a cream cheese frosting, and it was a big success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Actually, I haven't tried the recipe yet, but I have been looking for years for my old favorite "Magic Spice Cake" recipe. It was put out by one of the cake flour companies, and I made it in the forties. It was one of the "new" one bowl cakes, and used sour milk that was created by putting vinegar in regular milk. This sounds a lot like the recipe. I won many prizes at the Umatilla (Oregona) County fair in the special cake category with this recipe. I used to frost it with sea foam frosting. I'm really hoping that this is the recipe I've searched for so long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
A delicious spice cake, but needed twice the amount of spices. Perhaps a little less salt or leavening too. Paired well with ginger ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I would have prefered if it was more dense and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I increased the spices to 1 tsp each. I didn't have buttermilk or even plain milk so I used my favorite standby of nonfat powdered milk. I added 1 tbsp of white vinegar and let sit 5 minutes. Worked great and had the advantage of reducing fat. Good thing because my hubby will eat one of these in a day!! It's his favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This is my favorite spice cake recipe. I've made it 4 times now, and this time was my first making it at a high altitude (4500 feet), and with only very slight adjustments, it was still very moist! I changed from shortening to butter, because I like butter better, and I also added 1/4 tsp allspice, and an extra 1/4 tsp cinnamon for a spicier cake, because it just doesn't smell spicy enough for me the way the recipe calls for. For anyone at high altitudes, the only adjustments I made were I removed 1 tbsp sugar, and 1/8 tsp of baking powder, added 1 tbsp of 2% milk, 1 tbsp butter and 1 extra egg, and it came out moist, and didn't rise too early. It looked and tasted great with a simple cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Awesome cake! I made cupcakes with it, they took about 20 minutes to bake. It made about 19 cupcakes with a little bit left over. I would have liked it a little spicier, which is why I did only 4 stars instead of 5. I'd go ahead and use 1 tsp. of spices instead of 3/4. Also, if you're gonna frost it- use cream cheese frosting. I am not an experienced baker and just looked for an easy frosting recipe (which was a buttercream recipe). Didn't go so well. They both taste awesome separately, but together...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This cake was wonderful and gone in no time. I made it for my fiance to take to work and someone took the leftovers home. The icing I made also came out wonderfully and I got many compliments o this cake. I would like to add a little more spices next time to get even more flavor. Whipped cream icing is wonderful on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
There is a popular-brand cinnamon swirl cake mix that we can't get anymore where we live, and I was looking for a recipe here at Allrecipes.com to replace it. This recipe turned out to be nothing like what I was looking for, but I am SO glad I found it. Making the recipe exactly as written, the end product is a very dense cake with the texture of a good spice bread. Unlike most of the spice cakes I've had, it is not overpoweringly spicy, nor is it tremendously sweet. It's a refreshingly different kind of cake, and we all really enjoyed it. Some notes/suggestions: (1) I recommend making this in a single-layer rectangular pan. (2) When making this cake batter, it is very important that you beat the cake AS STATED for the times stated in the recipe. Your cake will not have the intended texture if you take shortcuts (like hand mixing or mixing for less time than called for) or if you overbeat the batter after the eggs have been added. So...follow the instructions. (3) If you don't like cloves, substitute ginger or allspice, etc. Just DON'T substitute all of them. Pick ONE as a substitute and go with that. Adding a tsp of three other flavors is going to overpower this cake and make it unfit to eat, in my opinion. This is a great recipe. Thanks so much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Nix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States