Magic Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
My whole family loves this. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karina Wallace
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
It's a light and fluffy cake that gets more moist as it sits and absorbs moisture from the frosting so it's best made a day before needed. Based on reviews, I fiddled with it a little. I increased the spices using 1 slightly heaping tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp allspice, 1/4 tsp mace, a pinch of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp ground cloves. I upped sugar by using 1 cup light brown and 1/2 cup white. I also added a tsp of vanilla. I frosted the layers with a caramel (penuche) frosting on it, too, which really went well with the cake flavors. My family absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I tried it...it was a great simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I have made this in both cake form and as cupcakes. It was a huge hit at my boss' birthday party made exactly as the recipe says but I do make some changes now. I agree with a lot of the posts here that say it's not spiced enough. I add quite a bit more of the spices in the recipe as well as allspice. I can't say how much I use because I just add until it looks spiced enough. This is now my boyfriends favorite cake; I make it for his birthday every year in cupcake form. Not too sure why people are admitting to altering the recipe completely and then giving a low rating saying it didn't turn out well... Just follow the recipe to the letter the 1st time around. You wont be disappointed. I like it with and without frosting. I also like to sprinkle some cinnamon on top of the icing as well as mixing some of the spices into the icing. It screams I'm a spice cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Campbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Texas, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This cake came out dry and didn't have enough flavor for my taste. It was tedious to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Was very dry and needs more flavor . Will be looking for a new recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
My family and I loved this cake. I used butter intead of shortening and left everything else the same. It is mildly spiced and delicious. We ate it plain and it was gone in a day. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I would give this 5 stars, but it really needed the additional spices other reviewers suggested. I used an apple spice icing recipe I found on here and the combination was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Whew - I just wanted a quick, moist spice cake that didn't really even need a frosting. I just made the recipe as stated with a few adjustments for high altitude. I was confused because it said original recipe - 1 - 9 inch pan but called for 2. The batter seemed really stiff and I decided to check them at 1/2 cooking time-they were already done! The cakes were really crumbly & slightly dry and bland so I make the orange glaze from another recipe, adding some almond and rum extract & poked holes in both layers to soak it up. I also added chopped pecans on both layers. I think it's OK, but not fantastic. Maybe it'll be better in morning after soaking a bit in fridge. A cream cheese or whip cream frosting would probably be good too. It's just a lot of tweaks for what should be a simple spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
What a disappointment. It was very dry and the flavor was not like any spice cake I've had before. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States