Magic Peanut Butter Middles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RUBES1
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I actually discovered this recipe on another forum & have been making these cookies for years with some very minor alterations. MOST IMPORTANTLY: ADD A TBSP. OF WATER OR MILK, as the dough is a bit too dry. I also always add an extra couple tsps., maybe even tbsp. of PB. Works every time. The dough should not looked cracked when you roll it, it should look like playdo. In addition, I cut both types of sugar down to 1/3 c. & they always come out fine. The middles are very sweet, so there's no need for that much sugar in the chocolate dough. With time, you become experienced at assembling these & eventually you'll be so good at it that you won't have any leftover PB balls, because you'll be able to handle more PB in the center, which makes them so much better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Ok, so I have made these about 5 times now. The first few times, I found the chocolate dough to be a little dry and not very flavorful. Here is a summary of what I figured out to make the chocolate part moist, fudge, and just awesome: 1) Use brand name cocoa like hershey's, it will taste better; 2) Add 2 Tbsp sour cream to liquid mixture; 3) Add 1 extra egg (total of 2); 4) add 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips to chocolate dough. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
Oh my! I almost gave up when the chocolate dough wouldn't wrap around the peanut butter middles very easily. But I didn't give up & found that if I really flatten the dough and then wrap it, it works better. I think next time I make these I will chill the peanut butter middles before wrapping the dough around them. (Oh yeah, I too was left with more middles than dough, lol!!) They do look scrumptious, time for a taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe! I have to say that this is one of the easier Christmas cookies I have ever made. I made the filling first and stuck it in the fridge while mixing up the cookie batter. Based on suggestions and opinions here, I added 2 T. sour cream to the batter and to make it more chocolatey, I added 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips. Once that was done, I then rolled the filling into balls and put them back in the fridge. I floured my hands and made small patties in the palm of my hand with a dent in the middle for the filling, put the filling in, and then rolled them like when you make meatballs. No filling seeped out, 30 cookies, and incredibly delicious. I am just trying to figure out how to hide them from the kids and me before handing out to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I baked them for my boyfriend (firefighter in training) to bring to his firefighter buddies. They were hit! I'd even give them five stars except they were a pain to make. I even tried to flatten the chocolate dough and plop a peanut butter mixture on top, then wrap around. Still pretty hard to cover the peanut butter. My chocolate dough didn't turn out too crumbly, but I followed the directions EXACTLY and I realize that by mixing the wet ingredients into the dry VERY thoroughly with my kitchenaid, they went from dry to moist - maybe this is the problem others are running into, they are undermixing. Anyhow, They cracked when I flattened so for that reason alone I may add a little extra water or maybe a couple of tblspoons of sour cream to avoid that. The end result was worth the effort! Don't skip the sugar on top...and these go great with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
The end result of this recipe is truly delicious. However, it is really time consuming and the number of cookies you get for that time is low. I rolled both dough and filling (both chilled) into logs and cut into 30 pieces, but assembling still took an hour. It was hard for me to get the dough around the filling without it splitting and letting a bit leak out. Mine all cracked on baking so you can see a web of the filling through the chocolate cookie. I read the reviews and the suggestion to freeze the centers sounds like it could make things a bit easier. They are very tasty but I won't make them frequently. I overbaked mine, going by appearance I didn't think they were done after the specified baking time so I added a few minutes, but now that they are cooled, they are hard and a bit dry, so next time I'll follow the timing in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I made these twice now and they are very good, but they are time consuming to make. Assembly is the slightly tricky part. To form the cookie I took a small amount of dough and flattened it in my palm. If its too sticky, add more flour. If the flattened disc is bigger than your palm the finished cookie will be too big. Drop the chilled filling in the middle and fold over and crimp. Place the crimped side down and don't forget to flatten the cookie on the baking sheet just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This is one of those cookies that you can't just have one. I love the surprised look on everyone’s face when they thought it was just a chocolate cookie when they tasted the peanut butter inside. I call them Peanut butter surprise. I chilled the peanut butter mixture and the cookie dough before rolling them into balls. I had no trouble at all. Can't wait for an excuse to make them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I love these and they are not a lot of extra work to make. To prevent the cookies from being dry the next day they should be stored in something airtight. I used a ziplock bag and my cookies were still great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Wow! These are great....took some time to make but worth it. I did end up with 4 extra peanut butter balls....so I guess I used a little too much cookie dough to wrap these. Otherwise the recipe was easy to follow and accurate. What a treat to have a chocolate cookie with a peanut butter surprise inside! Tasted like a Resees' peanut butter cup inside....will be making these for the holidays...thanks for a new cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States