Magic Marshmallow Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
These "Magic Marshmallow Crescent Puffs" have been popular since 1969--especially appealing to kids, but to adults alike! Since the marshmallow melts as it bakes, it is important to make sure the edges are really sealed well--if not, the center will ooze out and you'll lose much of that sweet goodness. This is a great recipe to make with kids--it's easy, they love the finished product, and they are really pleased with themselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
We have made these in our family for at least 30 years and call them "Marshmallow Sweet Rolls", but we do not use flour, nuts or the glaze . Just dip the marshmallow in the butter and then in the sugar/cinnamon and roll them up to bake (We bake them in Muffin tins). These have to be made just before serving for the best taste, but I love them cold as well. The marshmallow melts and leaves the inside with an ooey gooey sweet glaze. They are SOOOOOOO good and not a holiday goes by without them. We have twin 2 year olds who now help Mom make them and eat them and my Hubby as well as my sisters Hubby had never heard of such a roll, but now they are as addicted as we all are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
These were really good. Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I love this recipe. I found it when I was just totally inspired by marshmallows and wanted to make something besides rice krispy treats. This was so much more amazing than expected. I halved the recipe because I just wanted to test it. I also didn't do a very good job of following the directions either, and it was still AMAZING! I just made them two days ago and my husband already wants them again. They might be a new favorite holiday treat. The only things I changed that I would suggest is adding the remainder of the cinnamon mixture into the glaze for some added kick. I guess I also dipped the buttered top into the cinnamon mixture before baking too. Extremely pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrystalyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I was looking for a quick dessert recipe given what I had on had, and this matched so I gave it a try! Really tasty and sticky and sugary! Wouldn't recommend for anyone worried about getting messy though - this is definitely not a company dessert, unless your company is a bunch of 8 year olds for a sleepover ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amninta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This is a yummy recipe and very fun to play with variations. My favorite is dipping the marshmallows in spiced rum then butter and then rolling them in brown sugar. Then I brush the top of the pastry with more rum and butter and sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Fun and easy recipe... definitely one of the kids favorites. It's so good that we rarely use the glaze because they're usually consumed right out of the oven... no one wants to wait. They're best while still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
Very interesting recipe...tasted like cinnamon rolls! Great fun for kids with a good end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These were surprisingly good!! I made them with my grandchildren and we had a lot of fun making them! As one reviewer wrote, make sure the edges are completely sealed or you may end up with the marshmallows leaking out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seawillow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by Sovanny
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
AMAZING! Like a cinamon roll. I only needed half of the butter called for. I cannot stress the importance of making sure these guys are sealed up all the way! You get a big sticky mess to clean up. Unfortunately, I didn't have the ingredients to make the topping, but rolled the marshmallows in the butter, then sugar, then pecans. I'm sure the topping makes these puffs even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sovanny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Marshmallow Treats

See how to make super-easy marshmallow treats.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States