Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
I loved this bread. I made a few changes that perhaps made it better. Instead of the oil and the butter, I used 1/2 C of sour cream, and 1/4 C of milk. Instead of the 1 1/2 C of sugar (too sweet for my taste), I cut calories by using 1/3 C honey, and 2/3 C splenda gradular (or 18 packets of sugar substite). I didn't add in any raisins, coconuts, or walnuts (my boyfriend dislikes all of them), but added one chopped nectarine with the mango (I used 2 mangoes, a little over 3 cups). Instead of the cinnamon, I decided to try using ginger (1 teaspoon)--and it turned out great! Finally, I used 6 texas-sized muffin tins instead of the loaves--they were ready in 30 minutes. For about 300 calories per 6 oz muffin (with the changes), this was amazing... For those whose bread did not rise: This uses baking soda exclusively, which requires an acid ingrediant to "activiate" it. Try using buttermilk or yogurt for some of the butter or oil, or add a teaspoon of lemon juice. I used sour cream--same idea. I had no problem with having this rise. Or, try using baking powder for some of the baking soda (I used 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1 teaspoon baking soda)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
It always amazes me that people on this site change the stated recipes all around and then have the audacity to rate it low! Something I'll never understand. Anyhow, tried the recipe as is with chopping the mangos and didn't care for the texture, so I made it again and put them in the food processor and it was great. Also, the second time I made it, I baked it at 325 degrees since it is so moist and needs time to cook from the inside out. Thanks for a workable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This has the bones of a fantastic recipe, but having actually tried it in its original form, I agree with the other reviewers about modifications being necessary for the bread to cook through properly and rise. Like some other reviewers, instead of just using the 2 tsp of baking soda called for, I used 3tsp baking soda, 1tsp baking powder, and 1tsp fresh lemon juice to get this bread to rise (otherwise it really doesn't!). Also, I baked at 325 degrees for about 50 minutes with both loaves in the oven at once -- cooked through perfectly. Like others, I pureed the mango and because I used sweetened coconut, I cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cups so the flavor of the mango has a little more chance to shine. Excellent quick bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
This was really delicious. When I tried it the day I made it, it was just okay. The taste was good, but there was very little mango flavor. After being in the fridge for a few days, it was delicious. It needs a couple of days for the flavors to come together. One thing I noticed is that it didn't rise very much, and the mangos settled to the bottom of the bread. What I'll do next time is chop the mangoes into smaller pieces and mix the mangoes with a little flour before I mix them into the batter. Regarding the rising, I read in another review that this is the way it is. This is a great way to use mangoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
OH MY!!!!! I think I've died and gone to HEAVEN!!!! This is the absolute best bread I have ever tasted! I kid you not when I say it was gone in less than an hour. Now I'm making four batches for Christmas!! Thank you sooooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
This bread is great because it is extremely moist and filled with a range of textures. However, if you really want a strong mango flavor, be sure to use VERY ripe mangos. I brought this bread to the office and the whole loaf was gone in less than two hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
This is one of the best sweet breads I have ever had. It is a great way of using mangoes. This was the first time I have made it and the only change I would make is to use less sugar. I did not have butter and used margarine for recipe and pam to grease the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Very good. I omited the raisins, and pureed the mango. It reminds me a little of carrot bread with the coconut as texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I have never used mango's before but this recipe turned out great tasting. It didn't rise very much but the taste was awesome. I took it to work and everyone loved it, even the people who said "I really don't like mango's" I made them try it and they said wow it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
I tried this in my bread machine which was unsuccessful. I had to place the pan in the oven to finish baking. Even with this minor delay, it turned out great. Even my husband who doesn't like mangoes asked for seconds. I substituted chopped dates for raisins and doubled the coconut while omitting the nuts. Definitely give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States