Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
I tried this in my bread machine which was unsuccessful. I had to place the pan in the oven to finish baking. Even with this minor delay, it turned out great. Even my husband who doesn't like mangoes asked for seconds. I substituted chopped dates for raisins and doubled the coconut while omitting the nuts. Definitely give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Very good. I omited the raisins, and pureed the mango. It reminds me a little of carrot bread with the coconut as texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
This bread is great because it is extremely moist and filled with a range of textures. However, if you really want a strong mango flavor, be sure to use VERY ripe mangos. I brought this bread to the office and the whole loaf was gone in less than two hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
This is one of the best sweet breads I have ever had. It is a great way of using mangoes. This was the first time I have made it and the only change I would make is to use less sugar. I did not have butter and used margarine for recipe and pam to grease the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I have never used mango's before but this recipe turned out great tasting. It didn't rise very much but the taste was awesome. I took it to work and everyone loved it, even the people who said "I really don't like mango's" I made them try it and they said wow it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
This was really delicious. When I tried it the day I made it, it was just okay. The taste was good, but there was very little mango flavor. After being in the fridge for a few days, it was delicious. It needs a couple of days for the flavors to come together. One thing I noticed is that it didn't rise very much, and the mangos settled to the bottom of the bread. What I'll do next time is chop the mangoes into smaller pieces and mix the mangoes with a little flour before I mix them into the batter. Regarding the rising, I read in another review that this is the way it is. This is a great way to use mangoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
OH MY!!!!! I think I've died and gone to HEAVEN!!!! This is the absolute best bread I have ever tasted! I kid you not when I say it was gone in less than an hour. Now I'm making four batches for Christmas!! Thank you sooooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This bread is wonderful! It is very moist!! After peeling and cutting the first mango, I realized that the second one was not quite ripe enough. I substituted the remaining mango needed with banana, pineapple and peach! I know it sounds a bit too fruity--but it was delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This was a delight! I only used a handful of rasins..probably half a cup, as I don't care for cooked rasins very much. I used fresh coconut, mmm..good, but difficult to achieve given the shape of cracked coconut and the shredder. I crunched up some almond slivers in place of the walnuts. I will make this one again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
My mother-in-law loves Mangos but is alergic to the peel, so she can only eat them if someone else does the peeling. I decided to try this bread for her as something different. What a hit! We had a house full of people, the night I was cooking it and they could barely wait for it to come out of the oven! As a matter of fact...one loaf was eaten, completely, right when it came out of the oven! I refused to let anyone touch the 2nd loaf until the next day. My mother-in-law, and everyone else, loved this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAMMHOCKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States