Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a great tasting sweet bread. Tastes alot like my mom's fruit cocktail cake that she makes. The coconut makes all the difference in the world. I will be making this quite alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankie_z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I thought this was pretty darn good. I did puree as some readers suggested and didn't use raisins (didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I have a friend who is gluten intolerant, so I am always looking for recipes that can be made with rice flour. I used 1 ½ cups rice flour, ½ cup tapioca starch, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1 teaspoon baking powder, substituted 1 cup of sour cream for the butter and omitted the coconut. The result was wonderful. I will definitely make this again, and will add it to my gluten-free recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
had a box of mangoes and decided to try this recipe. my whole family loved it and im going to have to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I am not a very experienced cook of baker but made this recipe as is. I found it very moist and somewhat crumbly when cut but the taste was so good that people couldn't stop eating. Everyone suggested that I not change a thing the next time I make it===also to let them know when the next batch was ready. GOOD recipe to be sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Amazing!!! so tasty my mom, who NEVER eats fruit of any type, LOVED it!! It turned out magnificent!! Plus I added 1 cup of skinned, cored, diced apples- Turned out so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarkdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Honestly the best bread I have ever eaten! On my 4th loaf, I doubled the raisens, nuts and added a little extra coconut! The coconut was sweetened so I used a little less sugar. Fabulous! Now I always have a loaf on reserve in the freezer (just incase of emergencies!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was delicious. My oven gets really hot and so mine was done in 25 min @350. I used others suggestions of 1 tsp.baking powder/1 tsp soda. I pureed the mango. I also cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is the best quick bread I have ever eaten. I made it exactly as the recipe stated except one cup of the mango I pureed and I omitted the walnuts. I also used Ataulfo mangoes which are sweeter, less stringy, and are currently in season. The whole two loaves were eaten up by my husband, myself and our 1 year old in a matter of days. It is very moist, not too sweet and really tastes nothing like mango, more like carrot cake with a tropical twist. So yummy. Will definetly make again and again. Update: Made this again with regular mangoes...totally different. Mangoes were super ripe this time but the Ataulfo ones I used before just dissolved into the bread. I found the texture a bit too stringy this time. I think I'll stick to Ataulfo next time. Update #2: Today I made Magic Mango Bread with some substitutions after getting some suggestions and it turned out great. I subbed in one cup whole wheat flour and one cup AP flour instead of two cups AP flour. Also subbed in one cup splenda and half a cup of splenda brown sugar blend instead of 1.5 cups sugar. Better than my last batch that I made according to the recipe. I must mention that the last batch I made I added the dry to the wet and probably over mixed in the KA... Next time I think I'll try to sub some of the oil/butter for apple sauce or sourcream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was delicious!! Followed recipe exactly and turned out wonderful!! Everyone loved the idea--a change from all the other quick breads. Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States