Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Easy and delicious! My whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Great! Neighbors loved it... co workers love it.. It was good! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vidalia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this last night and it was amazing!!! I read a lot of the reviews and took bits and piece from them. I added sour cream instead of vegetable oil and I didn't add nuts (not a fan of nuts in my sweet breads). But it lovely and moist and I will definitely be making this again. OH! And I pureed the mango before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alzbabybird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Very Good & tasty!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay104kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This has the bones of a fantastic recipe, but having actually tried it in its original form, I agree with the other reviewers about modifications being necessary for the bread to cook through properly and rise. Like some other reviewers, instead of just using the 2 tsp of baking soda called for, I used 3tsp baking soda, 1tsp baking powder, and 1tsp fresh lemon juice to get this bread to rise (otherwise it really doesn't!). Also, I baked at 325 degrees for about 50 minutes with both loaves in the oven at once -- cooked through perfectly. Like others, I pureed the mango and because I used sweetened coconut, I cut the sugar down to 1 1/4 cups so the flavor of the mango has a little more chance to shine. Excellent quick bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This was REALLY good... I used all oil (didn't have any butter in the house). I also forgot raisins but I did have craisins so I used those. Really good. Used chopped macadamia nuts instead of the walnuts. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NapoliCharity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Deliciously MOIST! I changed the recipe to 5 servings and used a can of mangoes, which was PERFECT. Pureed it first in the blender and mixed it into the recipe the way that it was written. Thanks for some DELICIOUS BREAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
My husband grew up in Kailua, Hawaii and his grandmother always made mango bread for him. This bread is very sweet and dense. Instead of all purpose flour, I used whole wheat flour. I mashed the mangoes instead of pureeing or chopping them. Also used pecans instead of walnuts. With the coconut flakes, the bread was a bit too sweet. Next time, I will try the recipe omitting the coconut flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I made 5 batches (10 loaves) of this bread for a luau party I catered. Everyone absolutely loved it! People came back for seconds and thirds! Be sure to use ripe mangoes. It is a sweeter bread, and would even be great for a dessert, but went well with my menu (jerk chicken, shrimp fried rice, honey and melon glazed pork tenderloin). I will definitely be making this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a great tasting sweet bread. Tastes alot like my mom's fruit cocktail cake that she makes. The coconut makes all the difference in the world. I will be making this quite alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankie_z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States