Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I substituted dried cherries for the raisins, since I dislike raisins. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Hmmm. I think I'll try this again, pureeing the mango as others have said. It was good and I didn't have trouble with it rising, as others noted. I wonder if the rising issues have something to do with how acid the particular mangoes you use are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I gave it to some folks who weren't crazy about bread or sweets and they loved it! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I added 1 teaspoon of baking soda, 1 teaspoon of lemon juice, and pureed half of the mango as others had suggested. I also used only 2 tablespoons of butter and the rest coconut oil (no vegetable oil). I baked them in muffin tins. Wonderful!!! Thanks for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Mixed all ingredients exactly as written in recipe; baked in buttered bundt pan. Came out perfectly. Delicious, moist. Brought it into work and it was devoured to high praise. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
So, I did what one of the reviewers said and increased the baking soda to 3 tsp. and added 1 tsp. of baking powder. I pureed the mango, but it ended up being a very soupy batter. I used two mangos, which, chopped made 2 cups, but pureed made 1 1/2 so I added pureed pineapple. I think if you do puree, you need to go by the chopped measurement instead of modifying it like I did. I also cooked it at 325 like one of the comments said for 1 hour and 10 min. They were browned on the outside but "jiggly". I took them out anyway hoping they would firm up as they sat. They rose in the oven then fell about 40 min. into baking time. I think if I make this again I would increase the flour to at least 2 1/2 cups and use 2 cups pureed fruit rather than 3. My house smells wonderful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Fabulous!!! One of the yummiest breads ever. Stays moist and fresh for days! Highly Recommend this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
So very moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
extremely moist. will not let the mango ripen so much next time i fix it as the flavor is somewhat lessened
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie Luke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This tasted great though I did make some changes. The mango flavour wasn't pronounced. It is very moist and dense, definitely quite filling. It's a little different from traditional quick breads as this had a sort of bread pudding texture. Many reviewers mentioned having issues with the loaves rising; what I can say is that I used one teaspoon each baking soda, baking powder and lemon juice to try and avoid the problem. It really doesn't rise all that much, but that's fine with us. I used a teaspoon each of cinnamon and ginger. I decided to use applesauce and coconut oil to reduce fat and keep the 'tropical' theme going. Cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup, and used brown sugar instead. I only had 1 1/4 cups of mango, so I used some cantaloupe and leftover fruit cocktail to make up the difference. I mashed the fruits, left them a little chunky and strained as much of the excess juices that I could squeeze out. Omitted the walnuts. As mentioned it was indeed very moist, but oh-so-flavourful! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States