Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by lionqueenmelissa
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Amazing!! My whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lionqueenmelissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
So amazing! I cut the recipe in half because I only had one bread pan, but then I accidentally put in double the amount of vanilla extract I needed. No matter-this was amazing all the same! So moist and the mango tastes soooo good. This was a hit when I brought a couple pieces to work. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
OK, so the other reviews are so good, I think maybe I did something horribly wrong. This was not bread, but mango ooze. Although I did not put in raisins or nuts (not fam faves), and I did add a teaspoon each of coconut and rum extracts, I don't think the added 2 teaspoons of extract accounts for the mess. I was originally concerned that with 3 cups of mango and only 2 cups of flour it might be a little gooey, but gooey doesn't come close to what this was like. I cooked it for 1 hour 20 minutes when I finally had to take it out because I had to leave the house. The taste is great, but it didn't turn out like bread of any kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaNae Gibbs Cottam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I substituted dried cherries for the raisins, since I dislike raisins. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Hmmm. I think I'll try this again, pureeing the mango as others have said. It was good and I didn't have trouble with it rising, as others noted. I wonder if the rising issues have something to do with how acid the particular mangoes you use are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I gave it to some folks who weren't crazy about bread or sweets and they loved it! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I added 1 teaspoon of baking soda, 1 teaspoon of lemon juice, and pureed half of the mango as others had suggested. I also used only 2 tablespoons of butter and the rest coconut oil (no vegetable oil). I baked them in muffin tins. Wonderful!!! Thanks for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Mixed all ingredients exactly as written in recipe; baked in buttered bundt pan. Came out perfectly. Delicious, moist. Brought it into work and it was devoured to high praise. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
So, I did what one of the reviewers said and increased the baking soda to 3 tsp. and added 1 tsp. of baking powder. I pureed the mango, but it ended up being a very soupy batter. I used two mangos, which, chopped made 2 cups, but pureed made 1 1/2 so I added pureed pineapple. I think if you do puree, you need to go by the chopped measurement instead of modifying it like I did. I also cooked it at 325 like one of the comments said for 1 hour and 10 min. They were browned on the outside but "jiggly". I took them out anyway hoping they would firm up as they sat. They rose in the oven then fell about 40 min. into baking time. I think if I make this again I would increase the flour to at least 2 1/2 cups and use 2 cups pureed fruit rather than 3. My house smells wonderful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Fabulous!!! One of the yummiest breads ever. Stays moist and fresh for days! Highly Recommend this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States