Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by lionqueenmelissa
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Amazing!! My whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lionqueenmelissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
So amazing! I cut the recipe in half because I only had one bread pan, but then I accidentally put in double the amount of vanilla extract I needed. No matter-this was amazing all the same! So moist and the mango tastes soooo good. This was a hit when I brought a couple pieces to work. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
OK, so the other reviews are so good, I think maybe I did something horribly wrong. This was not bread, but mango ooze. Although I did not put in raisins or nuts (not fam faves), and I did add a teaspoon each of coconut and rum extracts, I don't think the added 2 teaspoons of extract accounts for the mess. I was originally concerned that with 3 cups of mango and only 2 cups of flour it might be a little gooey, but gooey doesn't come close to what this was like. I cooked it for 1 hour 20 minutes when I finally had to take it out because I had to leave the house. The taste is great, but it didn't turn out like bread of any kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaNae Gibbs Cottam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I substituted dried cherries for the raisins, since I dislike raisins. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Hmmm. I think I'll try this again, pureeing the mango as others have said. It was good and I didn't have trouble with it rising, as others noted. I wonder if the rising issues have something to do with how acid the particular mangoes you use are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I gave it to some folks who weren't crazy about bread or sweets and they loved it! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I added 1 teaspoon of baking soda, 1 teaspoon of lemon juice, and pureed half of the mango as others had suggested. I also used only 2 tablespoons of butter and the rest coconut oil (no vegetable oil). I baked them in muffin tins. Wonderful!!! Thanks for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Mixed all ingredients exactly as written in recipe; baked in buttered bundt pan. Came out perfectly. Delicious, moist. Brought it into work and it was devoured to high praise. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
So, I did what one of the reviewers said and increased the baking soda to 3 tsp. and added 1 tsp. of baking powder. I pureed the mango, but it ended up being a very soupy batter. I used two mangos, which, chopped made 2 cups, but pureed made 1 1/2 so I added pureed pineapple. I think if you do puree, you need to go by the chopped measurement instead of modifying it like I did. I also cooked it at 325 like one of the comments said for 1 hour and 10 min. They were browned on the outside but "jiggly". I took them out anyway hoping they would firm up as they sat. They rose in the oven then fell about 40 min. into baking time. I think if I make this again I would increase the flour to at least 2 1/2 cups and use 2 cups pureed fruit rather than 3. My house smells wonderful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Fabulous!!! One of the yummiest breads ever. Stays moist and fresh for days! Highly Recommend this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States