Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Very tasty! The bread falls apart easily, and while I"m told that happens to the majority of fruit breads, I've also been told (have yet to try) that greek yogurt should thicken it up just enough to hold together better! Will be trying this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Wonderful flavor......I didnt add the raisins, coconut or walnuts,but chopped strawberries instead...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I LOVED this! I used whole wheat pastry flour, unsweetened applesauce for the fat, and cut down on the sugar because all I had on hand was sweetened coconut. It was so moist it was like cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Added Cannabutter instead, of regular butter. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious recipe, but I did make some changes that may have changed the taste. I cut sugar down by 1/4, and sub'd 1/3 cup of oil for apple sauce. Instead of raisins and nuts (I had none) I used 1 cup combined of chopped dried mango/apricots soaked in rum, and added 1/2 tsp of cardamon and 1/2 tsp ginger. I messed up trying to follow other reviews and accidentally added 3 tsp baking powder/1 tsp baking soda, so cake rose very nicely, but perhaps was slightly salty (but only because I knew). Apricots were perfect addition since they added the zip that is in fresh mangoes, but seems to be lost when it is baked. Can't wait for next mango season to make this some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
in stead of walnuts I used Macnuts, everyone loves it I cant keep it in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherryberry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Super good, but you can save yourself some money on the mangos and buy peaches. There isn't a strong mango flavor. I did omit the raisins (dislike), coconut & walnuts (didn't have). I also added PB chips. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Don't like raisins so I doubled the coconut. It was the best!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I enjoyed this easy recipe. I used durian instead of mango and omitted the walnuts and coconut. I also used a bundt pan and dusted it with cinnamon sugar, then coated the top of the batter with cinnamon sugar as well and that made it even sweeter! I also went with 1/2 baking soda and 1/2 baking powder as that's always resulted in good quick breads for me in the past. I will definitely try this recipe with mango in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This recipe was OK - very moist, but shy on mango flavor in my opinion. I followed recipe exactly, but I did "process the chopped mangos with my hand mixer" which produced some juice, but left mostly chopped mangos. Everybody at work loved it, except myself and the other two ladies who like to bake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States