Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This recipe is very similar to one that has been passed on in my family from Hawaii except it called for less eggs. I subsituted 1 C oat flour and 1 C whole wheat, coconut oil, and 3/4 C coconut sugar to make it a little healthier. Turned out very moist and just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I used a reconstituted package of dried mangoes from Kroger. I used only 1 cup of sugar and baked in a 9x9 square pan. Straight out of the oven it is a little dry. This moistens/tastes better after it has sat in an airtight container for at least a day. I may try adding in banana next time for some extra flavor/moistness, also maybe more cinnamon and some nutmeg. I couldn't taste the coconut, so maybe creating a coconut frosting would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marie Miller
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Good recipe, great way to use ripe mangos. Looked at a few mango bread recipes, liked this one with the coconut. I didn't have raisins, didn't have walnuts, so added chopped pecans instead. substituted nonfat plain Greek yogurt for the butter. My house smelled fabulous. The bread is delicious, tasted it warm. The only thing that is a bit strange is that the bread is a good texture, but the mango pieces are soft....but still delicious. I think I would chop the fruit smaller or run in the blender next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NatNat
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Followed the whole recipe but only used mangos in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatNat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
excellent-simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Great recipe! I used 3 teaspoons of baking soda, overripe mangoes and pulp that didn't require processing, and a four-loaf pan. I also added cardamom to the dry ingredients. I didn't have a problem with the rise or texture and the loaves were moist and delicious. They were even better the second day. I'll definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I wasn't to sure of this at first and I didn't read the reviews until after it was mixed and waiting to go in the oven so the only change was dropping it to 325 degrees for 50 min and I left out the raisins and walnuts. It was EXCELLENT. I took one loaf to the pottery studio and it was gone in 2 hrs and had people asking for the recipe. Thank you SACKPAC for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Roper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I used this recipe to make 2 dozen mango muffins and I was very pleased with the result. I puréed 3 cups of mango that were too ripe to stay in neat, cut cubes. I also increased the baking soda to 3 teaspoons and used dedicated coconut (and skipped the nuts and raisins). After 20-25 minutes at 350 degrees F, they were perfect and delicious. Just the right amount of sweetness. A wonderful way to use the bag of overripe mangos my husband brought home (with the leftovers, I made a mango sorbet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I used coconut flour and it came out super crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsie Bacik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
We have an abundance of mangoes thanks to one of my co-worker's overflowing tree! So I am glad I found this recipe. I substituted the oil and butter for an equal amount of coconut oil. Used 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of white flour. Less than one cup of sugar as well. Did not add raisins or walnuts. Came out great! A little less than I would have liked to fill two pans but It still made two delicious loaves. Fabulous! -Naples Paradise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States