Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
OH MY!!!!! I think I've died and gone to HEAVEN!!!! This is the absolute best bread I have ever tasted! I kid you not when I say it was gone in less than an hour. Now I'm making four batches for Christmas!! Thank you sooooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This was a delight! I only used a handful of rasins..probably half a cup, as I don't care for cooked rasins very much. I used fresh coconut, mmm..good, but difficult to achieve given the shape of cracked coconut and the shredder. I crunched up some almond slivers in place of the walnuts. I will make this one again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I have never used mango's before but this recipe turned out great tasting. It didn't rise very much but the taste was awesome. I took it to work and everyone loved it, even the people who said "I really don't like mango's" I made them try it and they said wow it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
I loved this bread. I made a few changes that perhaps made it better. Instead of the oil and the butter, I used 1/2 C of sour cream, and 1/4 C of milk. Instead of the 1 1/2 C of sugar (too sweet for my taste), I cut calories by using 1/3 C honey, and 2/3 C splenda gradular (or 18 packets of sugar substite). I didn't add in any raisins, coconuts, or walnuts (my boyfriend dislikes all of them), but added one chopped nectarine with the mango (I used 2 mangoes, a little over 3 cups). Instead of the cinnamon, I decided to try using ginger (1 teaspoon)--and it turned out great! Finally, I used 6 texas-sized muffin tins instead of the loaves--they were ready in 30 minutes. For about 300 calories per 6 oz muffin (with the changes), this was amazing... For those whose bread did not rise: This uses baking soda exclusively, which requires an acid ingrediant to "activiate" it. Try using buttermilk or yogurt for some of the butter or oil, or add a teaspoon of lemon juice. I used sour cream--same idea. I had no problem with having this rise. Or, try using baking powder for some of the baking soda (I used 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1 teaspoon baking soda)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
This was really delicious. When I tried it the day I made it, it was just okay. The taste was good, but there was very little mango flavor. After being in the fridge for a few days, it was delicious. It needs a couple of days for the flavors to come together. One thing I noticed is that it didn't rise very much, and the mangos settled to the bottom of the bread. What I'll do next time is chop the mangoes into smaller pieces and mix the mangoes with a little flour before I mix them into the batter. Regarding the rising, I read in another review that this is the way it is. This is a great way to use mangoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
This is one of the best sweet breads I have ever had. It is a great way of using mangoes. This was the first time I have made it and the only change I would make is to use less sugar. I did not have butter and used margarine for recipe and pam to grease the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This bread is wonderful! It is very moist!! After peeling and cutting the first mango, I realized that the second one was not quite ripe enough. I substituted the remaining mango needed with banana, pineapple and peach! I know it sounds a bit too fruity--but it was delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
My mother-in-law loves Mangos but is alergic to the peel, so she can only eat them if someone else does the peeling. I decided to try this bread for her as something different. What a hit! We had a house full of people, the night I was cooking it and they could barely wait for it to come out of the oven! As a matter of fact...one loaf was eaten, completely, right when it came out of the oven! I refused to let anyone touch the 2nd loaf until the next day. My mother-in-law, and everyone else, loved this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAMMHOCKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
Very good. It's not too sweet, just right. I didn't put walnuts or raisens in and it came out great. My daughter and I love it. Similar to carrot cake. I think it would make a great cake with vanilla frosting on the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
This is such a good recipe for when you want a change of pace from the typical quick breads (banana, cranberry, etc). It is easily adaptable to whatever fruit you have on hand, and it freezes well, too. I made mini-loaves - we ate the first loaf and I froze the others. It was really convenient to just pull out a couple little loaves when we had overnight guests (no-fuss breakfast!), and they loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States