Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a great tasting sweet bread. Tastes alot like my mom's fruit cocktail cake that she makes. The coconut makes all the difference in the world. I will be making this quite alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankie_z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I thought this was pretty darn good. I did puree as some readers suggested and didn't use raisins (didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I have a friend who is gluten intolerant, so I am always looking for recipes that can be made with rice flour. I used 1 ½ cups rice flour, ½ cup tapioca starch, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1 teaspoon baking powder, substituted 1 cup of sour cream for the butter and omitted the coconut. The result was wonderful. I will definitely make this again, and will add it to my gluten-free recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
had a box of mangoes and decided to try this recipe. my whole family loved it and im going to have to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I am not a very experienced cook of baker but made this recipe as is. I found it very moist and somewhat crumbly when cut but the taste was so good that people couldn't stop eating. Everyone suggested that I not change a thing the next time I make it===also to let them know when the next batch was ready. GOOD recipe to be sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Amazing!!! so tasty my mom, who NEVER eats fruit of any type, LOVED it!! It turned out magnificent!! Plus I added 1 cup of skinned, cored, diced apples- Turned out so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarkdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Honestly the best bread I have ever eaten! On my 4th loaf, I doubled the raisens, nuts and added a little extra coconut! The coconut was sweetened so I used a little less sugar. Fabulous! Now I always have a loaf on reserve in the freezer (just incase of emergencies!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was delicious. My oven gets really hot and so mine was done in 25 min @350. I used others suggestions of 1 tsp.baking powder/1 tsp soda. I pureed the mango. I also cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is the best quick bread I have ever eaten. I made it exactly as the recipe stated except one cup of the mango I pureed and I omitted the walnuts. I also used Ataulfo mangoes which are sweeter, less stringy, and are currently in season. The whole two loaves were eaten up by my husband, myself and our 1 year old in a matter of days. It is very moist, not too sweet and really tastes nothing like mango, more like carrot cake with a tropical twist. So yummy. Will definetly make again and again. Update: Made this again with regular mangoes...totally different. Mangoes were super ripe this time but the Ataulfo ones I used before just dissolved into the bread. I found the texture a bit too stringy this time. I think I'll stick to Ataulfo next time. Update #2: Today I made Magic Mango Bread with some substitutions after getting some suggestions and it turned out great. I subbed in one cup whole wheat flour and one cup AP flour instead of two cups AP flour. Also subbed in one cup splenda and half a cup of splenda brown sugar blend instead of 1.5 cups sugar. Better than my last batch that I made according to the recipe. I must mention that the last batch I made I added the dry to the wet and probably over mixed in the KA... Next time I think I'll try to sub some of the oil/butter for apple sauce or sourcream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was delicious!! Followed recipe exactly and turned out wonderful!! Everyone loved the idea--a change from all the other quick breads. Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States