Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I added 1 teaspoon of baking soda, 1 teaspoon of lemon juice, and pureed half of the mango as others had suggested. I also used only 2 tablespoons of butter and the rest coconut oil (no vegetable oil). I baked them in muffin tins. Wonderful!!! Thanks for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Mixed all ingredients exactly as written in recipe; baked in buttered bundt pan. Came out perfectly. Delicious, moist. Brought it into work and it was devoured to high praise. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
So, I did what one of the reviewers said and increased the baking soda to 3 tsp. and added 1 tsp. of baking powder. I pureed the mango, but it ended up being a very soupy batter. I used two mangos, which, chopped made 2 cups, but pureed made 1 1/2 so I added pureed pineapple. I think if you do puree, you need to go by the chopped measurement instead of modifying it like I did. I also cooked it at 325 like one of the comments said for 1 hour and 10 min. They were browned on the outside but "jiggly". I took them out anyway hoping they would firm up as they sat. They rose in the oven then fell about 40 min. into baking time. I think if I make this again I would increase the flour to at least 2 1/2 cups and use 2 cups pureed fruit rather than 3. My house smells wonderful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Fabulous!!! One of the yummiest breads ever. Stays moist and fresh for days! Highly Recommend this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
So very moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
extremely moist. will not let the mango ripen so much next time i fix it as the flavor is somewhat lessened
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This tasted great though I did make some changes. The mango flavour wasn't pronounced. It is very moist and dense, definitely quite filling. It's a little different from traditional quick breads as this had a sort of bread pudding texture. Many reviewers mentioned having issues with the loaves rising; what I can say is that I used one teaspoon each baking soda, baking powder and lemon juice to try and avoid the problem. It really doesn't rise all that much, but that's fine with us. I used a teaspoon each of cinnamon and ginger. I decided to use applesauce and coconut oil to reduce fat and keep the 'tropical' theme going. Cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup, and used brown sugar instead. I only had 1 1/4 cups of mango, so I used some cantaloupe and leftover fruit cocktail to make up the difference. I mashed the fruits, left them a little chunky and strained as much of the excess juices that I could squeeze out. Omitted the walnuts. As mentioned it was indeed very moist, but oh-so-flavourful! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is the ULTIMATE sweet bread! I will make it all the time too! My hubby LOVES it! Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My bread didn't rise but it tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was OK but the mango favor did not really come through liked I had hoped. It reminded me a spice cake. I may try this again with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States