Magic Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
first time I made it...UNBELEIVABLE! next time I made it, it sunk in the middle...what did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kula, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I prefer using the food processor with the mango but had great success! I didn't change anything else and it turned out great. 6 out of 6 other guinea pigs loved it too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Excellent and sweet. I split it 50/50 mango and crushed pineapple. The bread was a little too moist and not as cohesive as it would have been without the pineapple but the flavor was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I am not a good baker! But, I really wanted to try this bread. I am not crazy about artificial sweeteners, and wanted to make it healthier, so I made the following changes: I used 1 cup all purpose and 1 cup unbleached flour 3 tsp baking soda (after reading other comments) 1/2 teaspoon salt 1 teaspoon cinnamon because I really want to taste the mango. 5 medium mangos - about 3 1/2 - 4 cups. (1 ½ cups of it I pureed) I did NOT use store bought, I used my mother in law's which have no fiber and taste like candy! Unfortunately I do not know the "type". butter -a quarter of a cup (1/2 of a stick) canola oil - a quarter of a cup ¾ cup of organic whole cane sugar, and it was still a little too sweet 3eggs 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 1 tsp lemon – (another reader suggested this for rising but I forgot to add it and my bread did not rise) 1/2 cup raisins – I omitted these (again in hopes of increasing the mango flavor) I used 1 cup walnuts(love walnuts) ¾ cup of desiccated unsweetened coconut The rest is pretty much the same, except that due to laziness I used my Vitamix to blend the dry ingredients, then separately the wet ingredients, then combined the 2 in a bowl. I also had to lessen the cooking time to 35 min. Probably because I have a convection oven? Maybe due to the ingredient change?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Loved this bread. The only changes I made was omitting the raisin because my family does not care for them and I puréed the mango instead of chopped. The bread was very moist and flavorful. Will absolutely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I followed the advice of others who said to put 3 teas, of baking soda and 1 teasp. of b powder so the bread rises. I must say although my bread still did not rise the bread the bread itself was great flavor and my husband loved it! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This is a very moist, sweet bread. I added 1 teaspoon baking powder with the baking soda. Instead of vegetable oil I used coconut oil to add to that tropical flavor. I substituted sliced almonds for walnuts (they seem more tropical than walnuts to me). I used four mangoes (about 2.5 cups) that I mashed. I baked at 325 for 50 minutes; lower your over temperature to 325 and cover your pans with aluminum foil halfway through or your bread will be very dark brown. Many of the mangoes did settle in the bottom, but you still get some mango in every bit. This is very tropical, perfect with coffee or milk in the morning. Definitely sweet enough without any topping or glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kictola
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I enjoyed this bread. Instead of butter I used yoplait mango and peach 6 oz yogurt and add 1 teaspoon of baking powder. I omit the raisins, coconut and nuts because I had none. I also reduce the sugar to a cup and mash three large mangoes. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing. I was really looking for something to do with mangoes besides smoothies now I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I used half whole wheat and white whole wheat flour, reduced both the butter and oil to 1/4 cups and added applesauce and yogurt instead. I didn't have raisins or nuts to add. For a healthier version of this recipe, it turned out very good. Nice change from banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
So good! I needed recipes because my husband bought a case of mangoes...this bread was so delicious that he ate the second loaf all by himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States